First Grade Newsletter

March 16th - 20th

Spring Break Photos

Dear Parents,
We hope that you had a most enjoyable and fun Spring Break! As you know spring break often allows us time to take many photos. In Reading this week we will be needing a photo of your child for a project that we will be doing. Please send your child with one photo of themselves to school on Tuesday. If you are unable to have one printed, please email it to your child's teacher. Thank you!

Sincerely,
The First Grade team

Learning Targets

Dear Parents,

We would like to celebrate the academic success your child has had thus far. They have worked extremely hard in all subject areas. As we approach our last two six weeks of school we would like you to know that the rigor of our work is getting critical. Many of your children will be challenged across all content areas. With that being said, you may see a change in your child's grade(s). This is not a bad thing considering what they are being asked to do. Your child may have to grapple with new concepts, and that's okay! As long as they are putting forth 100% of their effort, they will grasp it. It may just take a little longer than usual! If we have a concern with your child's progress we will definitely contact you to set up a conference. Our goal is to prepare all our first graders, to the best of our abilities, for second grade!

Please continue to encourage your child to always do their best and to be accountable for their learning. We appreciate all your support!


Readers Workshop:

Students will identify features of nonfiction texts and create their own nonfiction text feature books.


Writers Workshop:

Students will learn how to organize and write an expository/informative writing piece and a narrative/fiction story on the same topic.



Social Studies:

Students will learn how communication has changed over the years and the impact it has had on communities over time.


Math Workshop:

Students will learn how addition and subtraction are related and use those related facts to find missing parts of number sentences and to complete fact families.


Science:

Students will learn how to identify characteristics of different environments so that; they can understand how animals interact within their environment.

Upcoming Events

March 18th: Talent show auditions beginning at 3:00 p.m. for those who filled out a form to audition.
March 27th: Watch D.O.G movie night 5:30 - 8:30 p.m.

Teacher Contact Information

Brytnei Rocha: brocha@nisdtx.org
Stefanie Dailey: sdailey@nisdtx.org
Dan Flank: dflank@nisdtx.org
Alyssa Stas: astas@nistx.org
Amy Harding: aharding@nisdtx.org
Breanne Goeke: bgoeke@nisdtx.org
Kristin Beaty: kbeaty@nisdtx.org

Transportation Changes

To ensure your child's transportation changes are met each day, please contact the front office or email Beckelem@nisdtx.org and CC your child's teacher with the changes. It would be best to notify us as early in the day as possible.

We are the Power of One

Are you following Beck on Twitter? If not, please consider joining and keeping up with the amazing things happening on campus. You can also like us on Facebook! Click the links above to find out more.