By: Madison Alston

Some of the major cities in Panama

*Panama City which is also the capital (A photo of this city is on the right)

*San Miguelito




Panama used to be controlled by Spain, but they got their independence in 1821 BUT they went to be ruled by Colombia and was independent from Colombia in 1903. Today, Panama is not controlled by any country. The national language of Panama is Spanish and the Panama flag is shown below.
Big image

Political and Economic Information

Panama has a constitutional democracy and the leader is Juan Carlos Varela.
The currency that Panama uses is Balboa and their economic system is capitalism.

Geographical Information

Panama is located in Central America and borders the Caribbean Sea and the North Pacific Ocean. Panama is in between Colombia and Costa Rica. There is only one lake in Panama; Gatun Lake. One mountain in Panama is Darien Mountain. A famous canal in Panama is Panama Canal.

Tourist Information

People should visit Panama because there is warm weather all year around. Some fun things to do are snorkeling and hiking jungle trails that go along a volcanic crater.

Fun Facts That May Make You Smile And If Not Oh Well :)

Panama is the only place in the world where you can see the sun rise on the Pacific and set on the Atlantic.

Panama City is the only capital city that has a rain forest within the city limits.

In Panama, you can swim in the Atlantic Ocean and the Pacific Ocean in the same day.

The Panama Hat is really made in Ecuador.