Followers are called Muslims

About Islam

The God of Islam is called Allah (Arabic for God).

The Islams Holy book is called the The Quran or Koran. The Hadith is a collection of traditions/sayings of the Prophet Mohammed. The Hadith functions as a supplement to the Quran, giving guidance to Muslims for daily living.

The Islams key beliefs are the 5 pillers of Islam and they pray 5 times a day.

The place of worship is called a mosque.

The worship leaders are called imam and mallan.

Their sects are sunni and sriite.

There are two official holidays in Islam: Eid Al-Fitr and Eid Al-Adha. Eid Al-Fitr is celebrated at the end of Ramadan a month of fasting. Eid Al-Adha is celebrated on the 10th day of Dhu al-Hijjah and lasts for four days, during which Muslims usually sacrifice an animal and distribute its meat among family, friends, and the poor.

The common holy site you see is Jerusalem and dome of the rock.

Islam was founded in 622 CE.

The person who founded Islam was called Muhammad.

Just like Christianity and Judaism they believe there is one God. As with Christianity and Judaism, Abraham is a big part of their religion. They see him as the father of the Arab people.

Muslims have seven main beliefs.

1) A belief in a single God

2) A belief in angels

3) A belief in revealed scriptures (oral or written) that are given to prophets.

4) A belief in the concept of prophets

5) A belief in a last day for the earth, when it will all end and then all souls will be brought back to God

6) A belief in the foreknowledge of God regarding the future.

7) A belief in a next life. The soul will live on after judgment day

Dominic Monte 6th Period