Port Susan Middle School

Family & Student Update 02/13/2022

Counselor Appreciation Week

I want to start by recognizing our wonderful counselors. Even with the additional challenges that have been added these past couple of years, our counselors have shown grace and compassion to help support our students & families. Thank you for all you do!
Big picture

Student (& Staff) Engagement

It is great to see our students enjoying working together & being active. This week, even our custodian decided to join!

Chromebook Reminder

This past week, we have gone over the message below with students through morning announcements regarding chromebook use. We appreciate your support regarding reminders that provide consistency for our students throughout the school day.
Big picture

Spirit Week

It will be great to see our students/staff participating next week in spirit days. Thank you to our leadership students for coming up with these themes!
Big picture
Big picture
Big picture
Big picture

Week of February 14th through February 18th

Monday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Lesson


Tuesday:

Regular Schedule

School Spelling Bee 8:30 a.m. (Cafeteria)

Advisory - Homework Support


Wednesday:

White Wednesday


Thursday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Homework Support


Friday:

No School - Mid Winter Break


Monday:

No School - Mid Winter Break

District Information

SHS Testing Center Closing

The number of COVID-19 cases has decreased significantly in our Stanwood-Camano School District community over the past two weeks. We are closing the walk-up testing center in the Performing Arts Center lobby of Stanwood High School after Friday, Feb. 11.


Stanwood High School, Saratoga School, and Lincoln Hill High School students and staff will still be able to test at Stanwood High School in room 241. Students, staff, and families of other schools seeking testing should contact their schools directly. All COVID-19 testing will still require paper or digital consent to be signed or on file.


Special Education Monthly Update

Some highlights from our Directors of Special Education:


Welcome to the first edition of our Special Education monthly parent newsletter! We look forward to sharing helpful resources, upcoming events, connections, and celebrations here with you.


**There are also great resources in the full S'more linked below.


In principle, inclusive education is:

"...the valuing of diversity within the human community. When inclusive education is fully embraced we abandon the idea that children have to be "normal" in order to contribute to the world. We begin to look beyond typical ways of becoming valued members of the community, and in doing so, begin to realize the achievable goal of providing all children with an authentic sense of belonging."

Norman Kunc, The Need to Belong: Rediscovering Maslow's Hierarch of Needs, 1992.

The Stanwood-Camano School District does not discriminate in employment, programs, or activities on the basis of sex, race, creed, religion, color, national origin, age, veteran or military status, sexual orientation, gender expression or identity, disability, or the use of a trained dog guide or service animal and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. Inquiries regarding compliance and/or grievance procedures may be directed to the District's Title IX/Affirmative Action Officer and Civil Rights Compliance Coordinator, Maurene Stanton (mstanton@stanwood.wednet.edu), or the Section 504/American Disabilities Act Coordinator, Robert Hascall (rhascall@stanwood.wednet.edu) Stanwood-Camano School District, 26920 Pioneer Hwy, Stanwood, WA 98292. Telephone: (360) 629-1200.

Thank you for another great week!

Cherae Almanza, Principal


Crysty Auckland, Assistant Principal


Our commitment

At PSMS, high quality teaching and learning means that we are a community of learners including both students and staff. Teachers provide routine and structures along with the belief that ALL students have the ability to learn.


Teacher Emails

Dave Austin (6-8 Fitness & 6 Leadership) daustin@stanwood.wednet.edu

Jonathan Bletscher (6-8 Band) jbletscher@stanwood.wednet.edu

Joan Campbell (6-7 Math) jcampbell@stanwood.wednet.edu

Garry Carlson (6-7 Math) gcarlson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Charlene Franck (7 ELA & 6-8 Art) CFranck@stanwood.wednet.edu

Grace Gale (6 Science & 6-8 STEM/Robotics) GGale@stanwood.wednet.edu

Chelsea Hanson (6-8 ELA/Humanities) CHanson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Nate Hanson (6-8 Computers/Digital Effects) nhanson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Audrie Harrington (6/7 ELA & 7/8 Leadership) aharrington@stanwood.wednet.edu

Deborah Hepper (6/7 Social Studies/History) DHepper@stanwood.wednet.edu

Seth Hills (6/8 History) shills@stanwood.wednet.edu

Lori Johnson (6-8 Assist) ljohnson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Wade Johnson (7/8 Science) wjohnson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Rebecca Klein (6/7 Science) rklein@stanwood.wednet.edu

Meghan Lawrence (6-8 PBS) mlawrence@stanwood.wednet.edu

Ellianna Martin (6-8 Math) emartin@stanwood.wednet.edu>,

Daniel Mccrumb (6 Math/Science & 7/8 Outdoor Ed) DMccrumb@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sarah Oldow (6 ELA/Social Studies) soldow@stanwood.wednet.edu

Catherine Perry (6-8 EL) cperry@stanwood.wednet.edu

Tracy Riley (6-8 ELA) TRiley@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kelcie Rocha (7/8 Math) krocha@stanwood.wednet.edu

Brad Rochon (7/8 Science) brochon@stanwood.wednet.edu

Connie Schmidt (6-8 Health) cschmidt@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sheri Schroeder (8 History/ELA) sleeschroeder@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kym Shoemaker (7/8 Math) kshoemaker@stanwood.wednet.edu

Crystal Titus (6-8 Fitness) ctitus@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kayte White (8 ELA & 6 Cultures) kwhite@stanwood.wednet.edu

Julia Zurcher (7 History & 7/8 Home Ec) jzurcher@stanwood.wednet.edu


Office Support

Jayde Piggot (6 Counselor) jpiggott@stanwood.wednet.edu

Keli Niegemann (7/8 Counselor) kniegemann@stanwood.wednet.edu

Emily Bowne (School Psychologist) ebowne@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kandyce Hansen (Speech Language Pathologist) khansen@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sara Harlan (Librarian) sharlan@stanwood.wednet.edu

Crysty Auckland (Athletic Director/Assistant Principal) cauckland@stanwood.wednet.edu

Cherae Almanza (Principal) calmanza@stanwood.wednet.edu