Clara B. Worth

May 2019- Note Worthy News

From the Principal's Desk

Dear CBW families,


Spring has finally sprung! We are so excited for all of our fun-filled spring events. April was busy with our drama club's performance of Cinderella, our Bumble Bee themed walk-a-thon, Career Day, Bring Your Child to Work Day, and our very special "Light It Up Blue" event.


Thank you so much to all of our volunteers who came in to discuss their careers and inspire our students. We had an incredible line up, and the students are so lucky to have such wonderful visitors.


May and June promise to be just as busy! Our 4th graders will be visiting BTES to get a sneak peek at their new school. Our annual Art Show will be held on Thursday, May 23. We will also host Battle of the Books, Field Day, Fun Day & many trips for specific classes and groups. Please be sure to read your "Peek at the Week" to stay up to date with all our CBW happenings.


As always, if you have any questions, I am here to help!


Best Wishes,


Mrs. Cara J. Burton

Principal

Career Day 2019

May 2019 Calendar

Thursday, May 2- BTES Parent Orientation @ 6:00

Monday, May 6- Friday, May 10- NJSLA Testing for grades 3 & 4

Monday, May 6- Friday, May 10- Teacher Appreciation Week

Tuesday, May 7- 1st Grade community Field Trip

Wednesday, May 8- Gifted & Talented Expo @ BTES 6:00

Thursday, May 9- Mother's Day Plant Sale

Friday, May 10- Mother's Day Plant Sale

Tuesday, May 14- PTA Meeting & April Student of the Month presentation @ 7

Thursday, May 16- Be Internet Awesome Seminar 6:00 RSVP required

Friday, May 17- Muffins with Mom (3rd grade only)

Friday, May 17- Neon Theme Day & Pretzel Day

Friday, May 17- 2nd Grade trip to Insectropolis

Monday, May 20- Preschool & Kindergarten Field Day

Tuesday, May 21-Grades 1-4 Field Day

Wednesday, May 22- 2nd Grade Animal Wax Museum

Wednesday, May 22- 3rd grade trip to Argo's Farm

Thursday, May 23- CBW Art Show "Wild About Art!" (doors open at 6)

Friday, May 24- Battle of the Book Semifinals

Friday, May 24- 4 hour session

Monday, May 27- School Closed

Tuesday, May 28- FUN DAY!

Wednesday, May 29- Battle of the Books Finals

Thursday, May 31- 4th grade trip to iPlay America

Cinderella

Save the Dates!

Thursday, June 6- Instrumental Recital 9:00

Friday, June 7- Kinderpalozza (please note date change) 9:00

Wednesday, June 12- 2nd Grade Multicultural Show

Thursday, June 13- Donuts with Dad (3rd Grade)

Friday, June 14- 4th grade moving up ceremony 9:00

Friday, June 14- 4 hour session

Monday, June 17- 4 hour session

Tuesday, June 18- 4 hour session & last day of school!

Bumble Bee Themed Walk-a-Thon

District Wide Monthly Reading Challenge

1. visit http://btboe.echalksites.com/home_page

2. Click on "Parents"

3. Click on "Curriculum"

4. Click on "BTSD Reading Challenge"

5. Click on "Reading Challenge Log"


Record number of minutes read by your child each month. The students with the most minutes read each month will be recognized at the Board of Education meeting.

April Students of the Month

Big picture

Cafeteria Balances

Please take a moment to check the parent portal and look at your child/children's cafeteria balance. Many students have a negative balance at this time. Payment can be made through the portal, or via cash or check in school. If you have any questions regarding your child's account, please let us know.

Light It Up Blue

Teacher Requests

Please understand that great thought and planning goes into teacher selection. Requests for a specific teacher can not be honored for a variety of reasons. If you feel you have an extenuating circumstance please contact Mrs. Burton 732-269-1700 or cburton@btboe.org. Thank you!