The Parts of the Water Cycle

The Water Cycle is made up of four parts; precipitation, collection, evaporation, and condensation. Each part of the cycle has a special part in the whole process. The water on Earth has been here for as long as the Earth has. Water goes through the water cycle and can be seen in different states of the cycle but there is always the same amount of water on Earth. Since the water cycle is continually repeating itself you can start anywhere when talking about the steps of the cycle.
Big image


Precipitation is condensed water vapor that falls to the Earth's surface when the clouds get to heavy to hold it any more. This can be in the form of snow, sleet, fog, sleet, or the most common which is rain water.


Once there has been precipitation there is collection. This is when the rain, snow, fog, and sleet collect in rivers, oceans, and as excess water on the ground.


When the sun heats up the water there is evaporation. When water evaporates it turns from a liquid into a gas (steam) and is collected in the Earth's atmosphere.


When the evaporated water reaches the cold air in the atmosphere it turns back into a liquid and creates condensation. The condensation in the atmosphere is what creates clouds.