The Hunger Games

by Suzanne Collins

Plot Summary

Sometime in the future, what was once the United States is now called Panem. In Panem, the country is divided into 12 districts that surround the all-controlling Capitol. The harsh Capitol controls the districts by forcing each district to send one boy and one girl between the ages of 12 and 18 to compete in the televised Hunger Games. The Hunger Games are essentially a fight to the death, with the lone Victor receiving privilege and care for the remainder of his/her life. In this story, we meet 16-year old Katniss Everdeen who lives with her mother and her sister, Prim, in district 12, and finds herself in the midst of the Games being forced to make difficult decisions as she fights for her survival.

Follow-up Books in the Trilogy

Suzanne Collins, the author of The Hunger Games, rounded out the trilogy with book 2, Catching Fire, and book 3, Mockingjay. A movie version of The Hunger Games was released this past March, and the movie version of Catching Fire will be released in November 2013.

The Hunger Games - official movie trailer

The Hunger Games - Official Theatrical Trailer

About the Author - Suzanne Collins

Suzanne Collins is best known as the author of The Hunger Games trilogy. She is also the author of a fantasy series, The Underland Chronicles. Prior to becoming an author, Suzanne wrote for several children's shows on Nickelodeon in the 1990's. Mrs. Collins is currently working on a picture book for children. To learn more about Mrs. Collins and her books, visit the link posted below.


(2012). District 12. (2012). [Print Photo]. Retrieved from

(n.d.). Katniss everdeen. [Print Photo]. Retrieved from

(n.d.). Cornucopia. [Print Photo]. Retrieved from games cornucopia

(2012). Suzanne collins. (2012). [Print Photo]. Retrieved from

Suzanne collins - biography. (n.d.). Retrieved from