Local Right to Education Task Force

Aiding & Supporting Parents of Children with Disabilities

History of the Local Task Force (LTF)

The Right to Education Consent Agreement of 1972 provided for the establishment of a Local Task Force (LTF) in each of the 29 Intermediate Units to ensure that the intent and spirit of the agreement is carried out throughout the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.

Although the initial intent of the LTF was to represent the needs and interests of students with intellectual and developmental disabilities and their families, today's LTF has expanded its efforts to include all students with disabilities.

Membership of the Local Task Force

The LTF is required to have 51 percent parent membership. Other members of the LTF include representatives from Appalachia Intermediate Unit 8, an educational service provider for Bedford, Blair, Cambria, and Somerset Counties; school district representatives and regional special education service agencies.

Parent(s) of a student having a disability are invited to become a member of the LTF. Membership is easy; (1) attend two LTF meetings in a current school year and (2) request to become a member. There is never a cost to attend or to become a member of the LTF.

Any parent, local school district representative or community agency provider serving individuals with disabilities is welcomed and encouraged to become a member of the LTF.


LTF meetings are scheduled monthly from September through May (excluding December). The 2022-2023 LTF meetings will be held:

  • September 26, 2022 - 9:30 am - 11:30 am
  • October 26, 2022 - 9:30 am - 11:30 am
  • November 29, 2022 - Evening meeting, 5:30 pm - 7:30 pm
  • January 24, 2023 - 9:30 am - 11:30 am
  • February 22, 2023 - 9:30 am - 11:30 am
  • March 29, 2023 - 9:30 am - 11:30 am
  • April 26, 2023 - Evening meeting, 5:30 pm - 7:30 pm
  • May 17, 2023 (Election Meeting) - 9:30 am - 11:30 am

*WEATHER CANCELLATIONS: The LTF will follow the Hollidaysburg Area School District 's cancellations due to hazardous weather. When the HASD cancels school on any date the LTF is scheduled to meet, the LTF meeting for that day will be canceled. If unsure of cancellations, please call IU8's EDC office.



580 Foot of Ten Road

Duncansville, PA 16635


MEETING SCHEDULE (times are approximate):

9:30 am - 10:30 am - Regular Business Meeting

10:30 am - 11:30 am - Informational Session - Presentation and discussion on topics related to Special Education and selected by members of the LTF

Goals of the LTF

  1. To advocate for the improvement, strengthening and expansion of educational programs for students with disabilities.
  2. To foster collaboration and communication among parents, schools and community agency providers.
  3. To assist families of school-age students with special education needs by providing information and support to help with navigating the special education landscape, including laws and regulations that affect their rights to special education.
  4. To educate the community at large about the needs of students with disabilities.
  5. To identify local needs and challenges based on feedback from LTF members then communicate these to local LTF contacts and to the State Task Force.
  6. To assist the administration in carrying out the rules and regulations growing out of the Right to Education Consent Agreement.

IU8 Member School Districts

Altoona Area - Bedford Area - Bellwood-Antis - Berlin-Brothersvalley - Blacklick Valley - Cambria Heights - Central Cambria - Chestnut Ridge - Claysburg-Kimmel - Conemaugh Township Area - Conemaugh Valley - Everett Area - Ferndale Area - Forest Hills - Greater Johnstown - Hollidaysburg Area - Meyersdale Area - North Star - Northern Bedford County - Northern Cambria - Penn Cambria - Portage Area - Richland - Rockwood Area - Salisbury-Elk Lick - Shade-Central City - Shanksville-Stonycreek - Somerset Area - Spring Cove - Turkeyfoot Valley Area - Tussey Mountain - Tyrone Area - Westmont Hilltop - Williamsburg Community - Windber Area

IU8 Member Charter / Cyber Schools

Central PA Digital Learning Foundation (CPDLF) - Hope for Hyndman

LTF Contacts

Anna Gibboney, Chairperson

Marty Dombrowski, Co-Chairperson

email: InfolocaltaskforceBBCS@gmail.com

Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/Local-Task-Force-on-the-Right-to-Education-IU8-139052819635010/

Kim Capenos, LTF Parent Advocate



Dr. Amy Woomer, Chief Education Officer

Appalachia Intermediate Unit 8


email: awoomer@iu08.org