MGM 6th Grade House News

November 16, 2018

Welcome!

Welcome to 6th Grade! Please read below for house news, upcoming assessments, and 6th-grade house highlights! These newsletters will be sent out every week on Friday!

Follow Us!

Please keep up with news and happenings at MGMS by following us on social media. Check us out at:


Facebook @mgmsgators

Twitter @mgmgators

Instagram @mgmgators

School website: mgms.lexington1.net

Teacher Contact Information

Please contact your child's teacher if you have any questions or concerns.

Administration

Dr Bill Coon - bcoon@lexington1.net

Dr. Kyle Meetze - kmeetze@lexington1.net

Jamie Powell-jpowell@lexington1.net

Alisa Long- aklong@lexington1.net


School Counseling

Laura Stockdell- lstockdell@lexington1.net


House Leader

Tracey West - twest@lexington1.net


Content Area Teachers:

ELA

Claire Calcina- ccalcina@lexington1.net

Mindy Matthews - mhmatthews@lexington1.net

Matt Bonte'- mbonte@lexington1.net

Social Studies

Courtney Garrison -cgarrison@lexington1.net

Ryan Miles - rmiles@lexington1.net

Sarah Huey-Clowney - shuey-clowney@lexington1.net

Science

Patrick Burnett- pburnett@lexington1.net

Sara Loper - sloper@lexington1.net

Dr Jessica Quinton - jquinton@lexington1.net

Math

Megan Freiburger - mfreiburger@lexington1.net

Amber Chavis- achavis@lexington1.net

Ashley Seats - aseats@lexington1.net

Tracey West-twest@lexington1.net


Encore Teachers

Drama - Rachel Cooper - rlcooper@lexington1.net

Orchestra - Jennifer Mann - jmann@lexington1.net

Dance - Megan Viazanko- mviazanko@lexington1.net

Dance - Kara Corley - kccorley@lexington1.net

Band - Melanie Winn- mwinn@lexinton1.net

Art - June Collins - jcollins@lexington1.net

Art - Beth Maddox - bmaddox@lexington1.net

Chorus - Augie Gil- agil@lexington1.net

STEM - Cliff Roberts - cjroberts@lexington1.net

ICIVICS - Melody Shafer - mshafer@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed - Phillip Thomas - pthomas@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed - Stephen Harmon - srharmon@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed- Abby Chisholm - achisholm@lexington1.net

PE - Candice Cobb - ccobb@lexington1.net

PE- Ben Anderson- rbanderson@lexington1.net

Chorus - Auggie Gil- agil@lexington1.net

Digital Design - Ryan Panter - rpanter@lexington1.net

Supplemental Math - Ann Bennett - abennett@lexington1.net

Academic Seminar LA - Susan Myrick - smyrick@lexington1.net

Math RTI - Trisha Hamilton - thamilton@lexington1.net

ELA RTI - Rayna Kleckley - rkleckley@lexington1.net

Academic Seminar LA - Jennifer Williams - jbwilliams@lexington1.net


World Language

Latin - Jessica Stolebarger - jstolebarger@lexington1.net

French - Erin Hamner - ehamner@lexington1.net

French - Cheikh Fall - cfall@lexington1.net

Chinese - Na Zhang - nzhang@lexington1.net

Chinese - Susan Wang - ywang@lexington1.net

Chinese-Natalie Lukity - nlukity@lexington1.net

Spanish - Samantha Simmons - ssimmons@lexington1.net

Spanish - Valentina Salomon msalomon@lexington1.net

Spanish- Manuel Vasquez mvasquez@lexington1.net

Veterans Day Celebration at MGMS

We enjoyed celebrating our MGM community veterans this morning. THANK YOU to all who have and are serving our country. Our program this morning was student led and had students from all three grades participating.

6TH GRADE UPCOMING ASSESSMENTS

IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT ASSESSMENTS BELOW, PLEASE EMAIL YOUR CHILD'S TEACHER.
ELA: There are no assessments until after the Thanksgiving Break.


MATH: Grade Level: The chapter 3 RETAKE will be Monday, Nov. 19th

Accelerated: No accelerated math assessment next week.

The Ch. 4 Decimals Retest needs to be completed by Tuesday, November 27th.


SCIENCE:We will be continuing to work on the Animal Survival Skills formative.


The final product will be due on Monday November 26th.


SOCIAL STUDIES: The Achievements/Advancements Unit Summative (iMovie Commercial) will be due on Tuesday before students leave for break. Students will be working on this in class over the next few days.


WORLD LANGUAGES: Please click on the following link for theworld language assessments. https://docs.google.com/document/d/1T-gYniUoXeNez_rKDfpl77_AgJ4mZbCYQfz56iXEfQ8

MGMS Counseling Information

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B-xnH9PvyUElelFlTEJra19POC1WaDdGR0F6N3VFanFjY0RZ


Follow our counseling center on twitter @mgmcounseling.

PTO Information

Sign up using the link below to receive emails from MGMS PTO. We will share information about our meetings, events, volunteer opportunities and more! Register Here Please contact us at mgmsptogators@gmail.com if you have any questions.


SIgn up Genius Link for Teacher Appreciaton help.


See upcoming PTO dates:

Nov 20- Swamp Fest - Sign up to Volunteer: Swamp Fest Sign Up (Concessions will be available for purchase for $1.00 each - cash only)

Nov 21-23 - Thanksgiving Break - SAVE YOUR BOX TOPS!!!

Nov 26 - Christmas Tree and Wreath pick up - 12pm to 8pm

* Ongoing - keep saving your used ink and toner cartridges


Dec 5 - Collaborative Planning Day - Dismiss at 12:40

Dec 7 - Krispy Kreme car line sale 7am

Dec 7 - PTO Meeting 8am (following car line sale)

Dec 11 - Pelican's Snoballs & Box Tops Collection during lunches

Dec 12 - Pelican's Snoballs & Box Tops Collection during lunches

Dec 13 - Merchandise Sale during lunches

Dec 14- Merchandise sale during lunches

Dec 21- Half Day


Dec 24 - Jan 4 - Winter Break

Thank you for sharing your children with us each day!

WE ARE HAVING A FANTASTIC START TO THE 2018-19 SCHOOL YEAR!