Florence Update

February 19, 2016

Dear Florence Families,

It was a short but productive week for Florence Elementary! A big thanks to September Wade and friends for providing a wonderfully spirited experience for the students.

Be sure to check out the calendar of upcoming events and our Battle of the Books participants and winners below.

Have a great weekend!


Love,

Laura

Battle of the Books

The first KISD Elementary School Battle of the Books was held at Bette Perot Elementary School, on Tuesday, Feb. 16, at 6PM. Florence had two competition teams participating. The Fantastic Flying Falcons: Catherine Guillot, Isabelle Valcarcel Bryan, Dhyan Patel, and Ryan Meredith and the 4 Feisty Falcons: Tatum Balli, Abby Oltmanns, Nash Giles, and Shree Upadhyaya. Both teams did a great job. The 4 Feisty Falcons placed 3rd in the competition. Congratulations to both teams!!!


There are 21 participants in the "Battle of the Books" who have been reading this year. They will continue to read throughout the rest of the year. In May, 5 teams will compete at our FES Battle of the Books.


Thanks to Ann Lallande, our librarian, for providing this opportunity!

Big image

Upcoming Dates and Events


  • February 25th: 6:00-7:00 Play It Safe Parent Preview in the Computer Lab.

  • February 26th: Spaghetti Dinner and Talent Show
  • March 3rd: Coffee Talk from 8:30-9:30 in the Florence Auditorium. Come for a cup of coffee and visit with the Principal and PTA president. We will provide school updates and answer any questions you may have.
  • March 1st: Play It Safe in all classrooms.

Get Your Yearbook!!!

You may order a yearbook online and pay by credit or debit card, the deadline for ordering a book online is March 1st. The ordering information is as follows:



Website: yearbookordercenter.com (open in Chrome if you are having trouble with the site)


School Order Number: 10831

or

Search by School Name: Florence Elementary, Southlake, TX

Please see below for some very important links and info!

Florence Elementary

Laura Lockhart - Principal - laura.lockhart@kellerisd.net

Farah Rehman - Assistant Principal - farah.rehman@kellerisd.net

Angelina Bowen - Counselor - angelina.bowen@kellerisd.net

Leigh Anne Nelson - Nurse - leigh.nelson@kellerisd.net

Dana Shumake - Secretary - dana.shumake@kellerisd.net

Pris Brown - Receptionist/Attendance - priscilla.brown@kellerisd.net

Jeanne Devine - Receptionist - jeanne.devine@kellerisd.net

Georgia Altom - PTA President - georgiaaltom@gmail.com