Australian Federation

By Nate Towers

The Six British Colonies

The federation of Australia was the process by which the six british self governing colonies of New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania, South Australia, Western Australia and Queensland agreed to unite and form the commonwealth of Australia, establishing a system of federalism in Australia.

Sir Henry Parkes

Sir Henry Parkes Has been referd to as the "Father of Federation" due to his promotion for the federation of the Six British Colonies of Australia. Parkes was five times the premier of NSW and one of the most prominent men in colonial politics. In October 1889 Sir Henrey Parkes called for the colonies to unite and create a great national government for all Australia. His speech had a huge effect on the movement toward federation.

Henry Parkes was born 1815

And died 1896

Big image

Reasons For Federation

* To regulate immigration

* strengthen defence

* To control industrial disputes

* Tariffs - Uniform tax laws on importation of goods

* Uniform laws in key areas sutch as, Banking,Currency Marrage and Divorce - To allow for equal treatment of all Australians

* Federation ensures one elector one vote

Federation Celebrations ( Info From School )

Australian delegates and the British secretary met in London and reached a compromise on the draft Australian constitution in July, 1900

This small celebration was the start of many to come as Australia became a new nation.

On 9 May 1901, celebrations were repeated in Melbourne, where e first commonwealth parliament would sit. Its 75 house of representatives and 36 senators, pledged an oath of allegiance.