By: Andrew Morris

The Seven Principles

Popular Sovereignty - People are the source of the governments

Separation of Powers - Each of the three branches of government has its own responsibilities.

Checks and Balances - Each branch of government holds some control over the other two branches

Limited Government - The constitution limits the actions of government by specifically listing powers it does and does not have.

Republicanism - The people pick their political representatives

Federalism - In this government system, power is divided between national and state governments

Individual Rights - Basic liberties and rights all the citizens are guaranteed in the bill of rights

Popular Sovereignty: Example- we the people. Non Example- a dictator has all the power.

Limited Government: Example- a type of government in which its functions and powers are prescribed, limited and restricted by law. Non Example- no constitution giving the government all the power. Popular Sovereignty: Example- we the people. Non Example- a dictator has all the power.

Separation of Powers: Example- executive, legislative, judicial. Non Example- one branch with the president only.

Checks and Balances: Example- all 3 branches check and balance each other. Non Example- one of the 3 branches having more power than the other 2.

Republicanism: Example- people being able to vote for a leader. Non Example- a leader automatically coming in like in England with the royal family.

Federalism: Example- when one state makes a law and another state does not have to allow it. Non Example- when the power is given to the national government and not to the states.

Individual Rights: Example- the millions of people has the freedom of speech and press. Non Example-not having the right of trial by jury.