Florence Update

October 16, 2015

Dear Florence Families,

It was a great four day week at Florence. On Thursday, Georgia Altom and I hosted our first Coffee Talk. We had a small but interested and informed group in attendance. We were able to share information about some of the ins and outs of district and campus business and share information about the Florence goals for the year. We hope you can join the next one as we continue the conversation.


Today we also Joined the Fight Against Drugs by "Wearing Camo" to celebrate Red Ribbon Month at Florence! It was fun to see all the creative Camo!!!


Have a great weekend!

Love,

Laura

Casey's Fun Run

Dear KISD Families:

We are 5 weeks away from the 19th annual Casey's Kids Fun Run. Let me stress the word FUN! This event is for all ages and all fitness levels. Even the 5k (3.1 miles) can be walked. Sign up the whole family and come out and enjoy the day together with friends and family, while contributing to a great cause- the students of KISD!

For a little extra incentive, we will be awarding The Casey's Cup to the school with the most participants. That includes "virtual runners." The winner will be announced at the awards ceremony immediately following the race.

See you there!


Dawn Gerety

Keller ISD Council of PTAs

Casey's Kids Chair


Casey's Fun Run Information - Click here

Thank you!!!

Thanks to PTA's Tiffany Finkelstein for a great carnival and to and Shana Bishop for a fabulous Silent Auction. They could not have done it without the army of volunteers to help - parents, teachers, and highs school students. Thanks to everyone for helping to make it a success!!

Upcoming Dates and Events


  • October 19th: PTA Meeting and 3rd Grade Musical 6:15

  • October 20th: Freddy's Florence PTA Spirit Night

  • October 22nd: 9:00– Presentation for parents by Marcene Weatherall, Drug and Alcohol Abuse Prevention Coordinator for KISD.

  • October 22nd (Thursday): RED RIBBON MONTH-I'm Not Crazy, I Make Healthy Choices-Crazy Hair Day

  • October 23rd: Spirit Day and Spirit Store

  • October 23rd: Yearbook Art cover contest deadline

  • October 27th: Progress Reports Available in HAC

  • October 28th: Florence Picture Day

  • October 30th: Story Book Character Day - Storybook Character Parade on the Basketball Courts at 8:05

Informational Flyers - Click on the Links below

Please see below for some very important links and info!

Florence Elementary

Laura Lockhart - Principal - laura.lockhart@kellerisd.net

Farah Rehman - Assistant Principal - farah.rehman@kellerisd.net

Angelina Bowen - Counselor - angelina.bowen@kellerisd.net

Leigh Anne Nelson - Nurse - leigh.nelson@kellerisd.net

Dana Shumake - Secretary - dana.shumake@kellerisd.net

Pris Brown - Receptionist/Attendance - priscilla.brown@kellerisd.net

Jeanne Devine - Receptionist - jeanne.devine@kellerisd.net

Georgia Altom - PTA President - georgiaaltom@gmail.com