Project Base Learning

By: Khyla Johnson

International Astronomical Union

The IAU is a collection of professionals who are very active in professional and education in astronomy. The IAU is a member of the International council for science. All of the IAU members are professional astronomers from all over the world. They have 11447 members and they collaborate with various of scientific organizations al over the world. The union was founded in 1919. The IAU's main mission is to promote and safeguard the science of astronomy in all its aspects through international cooperation. Every year the IAU sponsors nine international IAU symposia ( is the flagship of the IAU publications) These activities culminated with the organization of the UNESCO international year of astronomy in 2009, which reached out over 800 million people from 148 countries. In 2015 the IAU will actively participate in the International Year of Light.

Solar System Objects

Solar System objects are the small bodies in the solar system including Comets, Asteroids, the objects in the Kuiper Belts and the Oort Cloud, small planetary satellites, Triton, Pluto, Charon and inter planetary dust.

Kuiper Belt- sometimes referred to as the Edgeworth, is a region of the Solar System beyond the planets, extending from the orbit of Neptune to approximately 50 AU from the Sun.

Planets- an object in orbit around the sun and cleared its neighborhood.

Solar System

Dwarf Planets

The International Astronomical Union define a dwarf planet as an object in orbit around the sun that is large enough to have its own gravity pull itself into a round shape. As of 2008, the IAU five dwarf planets such as Pluto, Ceres, Makemake, Eris, and Haumea . Out of all the planets, Pluto is the most-known dwarf planet. Pluto was discovered in 1930 and until 2006 it was known as the ninth planet from the sun in our solar system. In 2006, the IAU discovered several other rocky planets similar in size or larger than Pluto. So the IAU decided to re-classify Pluto as a dwarf planet.

Other Dwarf Planets

Ceres- is the largest object in the asteroid belt between the planets Mars and Jupiter. ( It is made of rock and ice)

Makemake- is the second furthest dwarf planet to the sun and is the only one out of the four outer dwarf planet to not have any moons.

Eris- is the most massive dwarf planet and is the furthest from the sun.

Haumea- is the third closet dwarf planet from the sun and is unique in its shape making it least spherical of the dwarf planets.