Stanwood Middle School

Family Update - February 20th, 2021

Big picture

Good morning Stanwood Middle School Families!


With the snow melted we are so excited that we will get to see students starting Monday, February 22nd!


I'm going to list out some very important information and reminders for everyone:


1. Please make sure your student, especially 6th graders and other students new to our building, know their first period teachers name. We will have many adults at the entrance to the building, in the hallways and outside classrooms to help direct students. We also have signs posted all over the building. First period teachers will help students with directions to their second period class and we will once again have many adults in the hallways to help guide students safely and comfortably to their second period.


2. Bus routing. All busses will go the high school first to be screened before coming to Stanwood Middle School. For the process at the high school students receive a stamp on their wrist to verify they have been screened, please make sure your student is aware. Students being dropped off and students walking will be screened at the front of the building.

At the end of the day busses will pick up students at the front of the building and parents can pick up students in our east parking lot.

If you need information on bus routes please see the Family Message sent out by the District last night.


3. Our Hybrid Schedule is for academic support:


a. Students with the last name A-K will be in school Monday and Tuesday.

b. Students with the last name L-Z will be in school Thursday and Friday.

c. Our first week back, students will go to periods 1 and 2 both days.

d. The second week, students will go to periods 3 and 4 both days.

e. The third week, students will go to periods 5 and 6 both days.

f. The first class of the day starts at 7:40, the second class starts at 8:35. Students leave campus at 9:25.


4. As we plan for Spartans to return to Stanwood Middle School, our top priority is everyone's safety.

You and your Spartan will see videos and posters (examples below) to reflect student expectations to keep everyone safe and healthy at school.

We are continuing to get the school ready for students following all health department guidelines. As we work to follow all of the protocols required for our return, it is important that you make sure your Spartan knows the following:


a. Daily Attestation questions + temperature check to be in building.

b. Students will go straight to their first class in the morning.

c. Masks covering nose and mouth at all times.

d. Social distancing in classrooms and hallways at all times.

e. Bathroom breaks during class time only.

f. No food allowed. Water bottles are allowed, students just need to ask to step into the hallway to take a drink.

g. Bring charged chromebook and headphones daily.


5. Here is the link to a video that will help remind everyone of our protocols:


https://youtu.be/cci-u0A-Cu4



We understand there is a lot of information! Please do not hesitate to call the school if you need anything. We will have lots of adults available to answer student questions, keep everyone safe and make sure students are comfortable.


Have a great weekend!


Tod Klundt

Principal

Stanwood Middle School

A message from our Counselor Ms. Fox!

Community & Family Mental Health

Hello Everyone! Sno-Isle Libraries if offering some great webinars to support Community and Family Mental Health. This upcoming webinar will be online using Zoom and I thought might be interesting for SMS families:

Issues That Matter: Surviving Online & Hybrid Schooling
Thursday, February 25, 2021
6:30-8 p.m.
"Students and their families have been hit hard by the COVID-19 pandemic. Students have lost their routine and connections with teachers and friends. Parents are trying to juggle their own shifting work demands while helping their children constantly change gears. Hybrid school schedules, uncertainty when in-person learning will return, and often conflicting societal responses to the pandemic leave families stressed out and stretched thin. Join us to learn how your family can weather the difficulties and uncertainty of education during the pandemic."


This online event is free, but you need to register using the link above.


We are so excited to start our hybrid schedule next week! Please email me at KFox@stanwood.wednet.edu if you have questions or would like to schedule a time for me to check in with your student. We are here to support students in these unusual times.


Keep up the great work!


Kara Fox
Counselor
Stanwood Middle School

Big picture
Big picture

_____________________________________

Big picture

Teacher Office Hours and Email Addresses



Wednesday office hours (unless listed as a separate day/time!)

Teacher, office hour code, time


Mrs. Austin, austinofficehours, 9 to 10am

Mrs. Berg, berghelp, 9 to 10am

Mrs. Beuthien, gbss, 9:30 to 10:30am

Mr. Bliss, weeklybliss, 9:30 to 10:30am

Mrs. Bridenbaugh, bridenbaugh, 9 to 10am

Mrs. Brown, brownofficehour, 9 to 10am

Mrs. Diel, diel7help or diel8help, 8th is 9 to 9:30am and 7th is 9:30 to 10am

Mrs. Donovan, donovanhelp, 9:30 to 10:30am

Mr. Gelatt, gelattpe, 8:30 to 9:30am

Mr. Getzinger, getzingersms, 9:30 to 10:30am

Ms. Holum, cholum, 1:30 to 2:30pm

Ms. Kinker, kinker, 9 to 10am

Mr. Lukasik, lukasikscience, 9 to 10am

Mr. May, scoobydoo, 9:30 to 10:30am

Ms. Riker, riker, 9:30 to 10:30am

Mrs. Rockwood, rockwoodmusic, 8:30 to 9:30am

Ms. Walker (Rose), rosescience, 9 to 10am

Mrs. ten Hoopen (Ruhaak), gonavy, 9 to 10am

Mr. Schonberg, schonbergela, 9 to 10am

Mrs. Shoemaker, shoehelp, 9:30 to 10:30am

Mrs. Shoemaker, shoehelp, Pre-Algebra Tuesday 9:30 to 10:30am

Mrs. Shoemaker, shoehelp, Algebra Friday 9:30 to 10:30am

Mrs. Stuart stuarthelp, 8:30 to 9:30am

Mrs. Stunz, stunzpe or stunzela, PE 8:30 to 9:30am and ELA 9 to 10am

Mrs. Thomas, thomashelp, 9:30 to 10:30am

Mrs. Thomas, thomashelp, Algebra Friday 9:30 to 10:30am

Mr. Wall, wallgocougs, 8:30 to 9:30am

__________________________________________________________


Also, here is our staff list with email addresses for quick reference in case you need to contact teachers:


AUSTIN saustin@stanwood.wednet.edu

BERG jberg@stanwood.wednet.edu

BEUTHIEN gbeuthien@stanwood.wednet.edu

BLISS pbliss@stanwood.wednet.edu

BRIDENBAUGH kbridenbaugh@stanwood.wednet.edu

BROWN, LBROWN@stanwood.wednet.edu

DIEL KDIEL@stanwood.wednet.edu

DONOVAN adonovan@stanwood.wednet.edu

GELATT DGELATT@stanwood.wednet.edu

GETZINGER JGETZINGER@stanwood.wednet.edu

HOLUM CHOLUM@stanwood.wednet.edu

KINKER bkinker@stanwood.wednet.edu

LUKASIK plukasik@stanwood.wednet.edu

MAY BMAY@stanwood.wednet.edu

RIKER mriker@stanwood.wednet.edu

ROCKWOOD MROCKWOOD@stanwood.wednet.edu

WALKER (ROSE ) mwalker@stanwood.wednet.edu

SCHONBERG jschonberg@stanwood.wednet.edu

SHOEMAKER KSHOEMAKER@stanwood.wednet.edu

STUART CSTUART@stanwood.wednet.edu

STUNZ LSTUNZ@stanwood.wednet.edu

TEN HOOPEN (Ruhaak) mtenhoopen@stanwood.wednet.edu

THOMAS kthomas@stanwood.wednet.edu

WALL LWALL@stanwood.wednet.edu

____________________________________________________________________________________

Big picture
Big picture

Signs of Suicide Information

Please see information/links below related to our District Signs of Suicide Curriculum.

________________________________________________________________________________

Big picture

Message from Food Service

Here is a link from our Food Service Department.


Please click on this link food service page.

Big picture

The Stanwood-Camano School District does not discriminate in employment, programs, or activities on the basis of sex, race, creed, religion, color, national origin, age, veteran or military status, sexual orientation, gender expression or identity, disability, or the use of a trained dog guide or service animal and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. Inquiries regarding compliance and/or grievance procedures may be directed to the District's Title IX/Affirmative Action Officer and Civil Rights Compliance Coordinator, Maurene Stanton (mstanton@stanwood.wednet.edu), or the Section 504/American Disabilities Act Coordinator, Robert Hascall (rhascall@stanwood.wednet.edu) Stanwood-Camano School District, 26920 Pioneer Hwy, Stanwood, WA 98292. Telephone: (360) 629-1200.



El Distrito Escolar de Stanwood-Camano School District no discrimina en sus programas o actividades por motivos de sexo, raza, credo, religión, color, origen nacional, edad, condición de veterano de guerra o grado militar, orientación sexual, expresión de género o identidad, discapacidad o uso de perro guía entrenado o animal de servicio, y ofrece igualdad de acceso a los Boy Scouts y a otros grupos de jóvenes especificados. El empleado mencionado a continuación ha sido designado para atender consultas y quejas de supuesta discriminación: Título IX / Oficial de Acción Afirmativa y Coordinador de Cumplimiento de Derechos Civiles, Maurene Stanton (mstanton@stanwood.wednet.edu), o la Sección 504 / Coordinador de la Ley de Discapacidades Estadounidenses, Robert Hascall (rhascall@stanwood.wednet.edu), Distrito Escolar Stanwood-Camano, 26920 Pioneer Hwy, Stanwood, WA 98292. Teléfono: (360) 629- 1200