By: Trevor, Brittani and Raul
How does it work?
Why get Auto Insurance?
Determining Risk and Premiums
Reducing Risk and Lowering Premiums
Buying the Right Car
Student Driver Discounts
Bill Pay Type
The high cost of insurance may make paying monthly seem like a good idea, but you'll actually have to pay for the convenience with add-on fees. To avoid these extra charges, request to be billed every 6 or 12 months instead and auto-billing will save you even more.
Protect Your Car
Texas State Laws on Auto Insurance Requirements.
Car insurance Requirements.
If you choose to buy liability insurance to comply with the law, your policy must have the following minimum limits:
- $30,000 for each injured person.
- $60,000 for injuries per incident.
- $25,000 for property damage.
Other Car insurance
If your car is being financed, your lending or leasing company will require you to carry both collision and comprehensive coverage for your car.
Proof of Insurance in Texas
Your car insurance company will give you an insurance card to use as your proof of car insurance. You must show a proof of insurance when you:
- Are asked for it by a police officer.
- Get into a car accident.
- Register or renew your car’s registration.
- Apply or renew your driver’s license.
- Have your car inspected.
You should get a new insurance card from your carrier every time you renew your auto insurance. Most companies have a 6 month policy.
Liability and Collision Coverage
- 25 – The maximum amount (in thousands) the insurer will contribute toward injury-related expenses per person
- 50 – The total amount the insurer will contribute toward injury-related expenses per accident
- 15 – The max amount the insurer will pay for property damage for each accident
When you buy your policy, you won't be able to select limits below your state's minimum requirements, but you can always set limits that are higher.
Liability coverage generally breaks down into 2 main categories: bodily injury and property damage.