European Countries


The Netherlands is a constituent country of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, consisting of twelve provinces in northern Europe and three islands in the Caribbean. The Netherlands was also one of the first countries to have an elected parliament, and the country is a founding member of the EU and is is a geographically low-lying country, with about 20% of its area and 21% of its population located below sea level, and 50% of its land lying less than one metre above sea level.

Government Type:

Heredity monarchy

Leader and Title:

William Alexander

Big image

Limited or Unlimited:


Current gov't or concern:


% Arable Land:





More than 27% of the total land area of the Netherlands is under seasonal or permanent crop production. Grasslands account for about 54% of all agricultural lands. Most farms are effectively managed and worked intensively, and although agricultural production has decreased in recent years, labor productivity in Dutch agricultural and horticultural industries has risen sharply.


772.2 billion USD



Exchange Rate To US Dollars:

1 Euro = 1.37 US Dollar

Major Economic Activities:

The Dutch economy is dependent on foreign trade. During the second half of the 20th century the Dutch economy underwent a transformation in which agriculture and industry declined in importance while services came to dominate the economic activity. The nation's fertile soil and deposits of natural gas and oil mean that both agriculture and industry remain competitive with similar sectors in other nations.

Historical Political Event

There was a conflict between the Organists and the Patriots. A pro-French Batavian Republic was established in 1795–1806, which became a French satellite state, the Kingdom of Holland (1806–1810), and later simply a French imperial province.

After a collapse of the French Empire in 1813, an expanded "United Kingdom of the Netherlands" was created with the House of Orange as monarchs, also ruling Belgium and Luxembourg. Belgium revolted in 1830 and by 1839 new borders had been agreed, dividing the Netherlands into the three countries in the region today. Later, in the 1848 constitution the country became a parliamentary democracy with a constitutional monarch. Modern Luxembourg initially remained united with the Netherlands, but today is ruled by a separate branch of the Dutch royal family.

Examples Of human Interactions

Netherlands use dams and dikes to claim polderlands from the North Sea; United States (New Orleans): levees and dams used for urban growth and development; China: Three Gorges Dam on Yangtze River causing displacement of population, changing the land features, yet also providing great potential for modernization; Southwest Asia: changing the desert into areas of agriculture productivity and developing urban centers

Big image

European Union member: