Digital Citizenship

What teachers need to know

What is Digital Citizenship?

Digital Citizenship is an exclusive membership to participate in the digital world. This membership involves the norms for accountable conduct associated with the appropriate use of technology. This involves using technology effectively and not misusing it to ill-treat other citizens. Digital citizenship seeks to teach us how to communicate and respect others online. It teaches us how to access digital media online responsibly, and securely.

What is Digital Citizenship?

Nine Components of Digital Citizenship by Mike Ribble

According to Mike Ribble Digital Citizenship is composed of nine parts.

  1. Digital Access: full electronic participation in society
  2. Digital Commerce: electronic buying and selling of goods
  3. Digital Communication: electronic exchange of information
  4. Digital Literacy: process of teaching and learning about technology and the use of technology
  5. Digital Etiquette: electronic standards of conduct
  6. Digital Law: electronic responsibility for actions and deeds
  7. Digital Rights & Responsibilities: freedoms extended to everyone in a digital world
  8. Digital Security: electronic precautions to guarantee safety

Respect, Educate and Protect

Respect Your Self/Respect Others

· Etiquette

· Access

· Law

Educate Your Self/Connect with Others

· Communication

· Literacy

· Commerce

Protect Your Self/Protect Others

· Rights and Responsibility

· Safety (Security)

· Health and Welfare


Netiquette Basics

Frequently Asked Questions

If you have any questions about Digital Citizenship please click on the Google Form link and submit your question(s).

Resources for Staff and Students