Chapter 8 Dietary Guidelines

Nakia Spence

What do the Dietary Guidelines do for Americans?

Health risk is the likelihood of developing health problems, such as heart disease, diabetes, and some cancers.

Diet is an eating plan, it refers to everything you eat and drink.

Getting enough nutrients within your calorie needs.

4 factors that determine calorie needs are age, gender, activity level, and whether you are trying to gain, maintain, or lose weight.

Nutrient-dense food is a food that provides high amounts of vitamins and minerals for relatively few calories.

How to maintain a healthy weight.

Risk factor is a condition that increases your chances of developing a problem.

Having too much body fat include diabetes, heart disease, high blood pressure, some type of cancer, and arthritis.

Being a underweight person they do not have much body fat as an energy reserve, they also suffer from health problems.

Two suggestions for losing weight increasing physical activity and small decrease in food and beverage calories can help you lose weight if it is necessary.

Suggestions for being physically active every day.

Active living helps you control your weight, strengthen your heart and lungs, increase your endurance and flexibility, and reduce your risk for future health problems.

Teens should build 60 minuets or more of moderate to vigorous physical activity into their daily routine.

To build physical a activity into your daily routine you can get involved in a team or individual sport, walk briskly or ride a bike rather than ride in a car or bus, spend less time watching television and more time doing fun activities such as bowling or skating and you can use the stairs instead of the elevator.

Importance of whole grains, fruits, vegetables and milk.

Whole-grain products, vegetables, and fruits should be a main part of your meal and provide most of your calories. These foods are nutrient rich, cholesterol free, and naturally low in fats and calories.

They protect against heart disease, cancer; and other health problems.

3 ways to include these foods in your diet is to eat a variety of yellow, deep-green, orange, and red fruits and vegetables, for their different nutrients, drink yogurt smoothies for snacks add low-fat cheese to sandwiches, and eat fruit instead of sugary dessert.

How to limit fats and cholesterol.

2 types of unhealthy fats that rise cholesterol are saturated fats and trans fats and too much cholesterol.

Disease that can develop from a high fat diet: diabetes, heart disease, high blood pressure, some types of caner, and arthritis.

Guidelines to achieve moderate total fat intake keep saturated fats to less than 10 percent of your calories, eat as few foods containing trans fats as possible, limit cholesterol to less than 300 milligrams per day, choose mostly foods prepared with little or no fat, eat dairy foods that are mostly reduced-fat, low-fat, and fat-free, get most of your fat from fish, nuts, and healthy oils, buy lean meat and poultry remove skin from chicken and turkey trim excess fat from meant, eat egg yolks and whole eggs in moderation use egg substitutes sometimes, choose fewer solid fats, such as butter and stick margarine.

Be choosy about carbohydrates.

Foods with natural sugar is fruit and milk.

Foods with added sugar is candy and soft drinks.

You should limit your intake of sugary foods because sugars along with starches also promote tooth decay.

Why reduce sodium and increase potassium?

Sodium can help the body because it controls body fluids.

Too much sodium is linked to high blood pressure, heart attack, and stroke.

Potassium helps counteract sodium's effects on blood pressure.

Avoid alcohol

Drinking alcohol can affect, or influence your judgment, and that can lead to accidents and injuries.

Why is food safety an important part of the Dietary Guidelines?

Food safety is an important part of the Dietary Guidelines because when food is not properly handled, stored, and prepared, it can cause foodborne illness.