the 5 stages of sleep

By Avery Lineberger

Stage 1

When the body begins to fall asleep we begin to become less aware of our senses and the data collected by them. As we drift closer to being asleep our brains begin to generate a regular pattern of alpha waves, think of it as your brains heartbeat. All throughout stage one the person can easily be stirred awake. Throughout stage one there are mental images from the days experiences, and some short fuzzy dreams, most dreams in this stage of sleep are not remembered.

Stage 2

The second stage of sleep lasts roughly 20 mins. During which our brain brain waves begin to move in a rhythmic form known as spindles. Our heart rate decreases and body temperature drop.

Stage 3

Slower brain waves known as delta waves begin to be seen in this stage. Stage three is the transition between light and deep sleep. Dreaming is more common in this stage then any other stage of non REM sleep.

Stage 4

Stage 4 sleep is defined as when delta waves are 50 percent or more of the brains activity

Stage 5

Adults spend the longest time in this stage of sleep. Short rapid bursts of brain activity, this is the stage when most dreaming takes place. Stage 5 (REM) sleep is when a person is most likely to wake up for a short period but usually these short awakenings are erased by amnesia.