Nord's Newsletter

May 9-13, 2016

3rd Grade Class Picnic

Friday, May 13, 2-3:15 will be our class "picnic". We will eating at our normal lunch time and have games/activities for the students. If you are available to help supervise the kickball, tag football, or yard games, please click the link to sign-up.

Class "Picnic"

Happy Mother's Day

I hope all of you mothers had a wonderful, relaxing Mother's Day. Here are only a few pictures, but all of the kids had the best smile to share with their mom. I hope you liked the card your child made for you.

Reading

Last week, I conferenced with each of the students on their biography report. So students will spending the bulk of their week typing their biography report.

I will also start the end of the year testing in reading(benchmarking).

Math

After a quick review on subtracting with regrouping the students were able to get the hang of it and were pros by the end of the week with subtracting up to 4-5 digits and regrouping twice.

The students will be multiplying 2-3 problems this week. I will teach both the traditional and lattice method.

We will end the year with solving various number stories(story problems).

Science

We will continue to learn about the different body systems.
-finish up with muscles
-digestive
-respiratory

**In the photo the students are sharing bone and muscle facts from their science journal.

Selfie

With the end of the year quickly approaching....boo-hoo, students will be completing a memory book of their year in 3rd grade. One of the pages is a "Selfie" page. The students had fun taking their own personal selfie that they will put in the book.

Up-Coming Schedule for May 9-27th

Monday, May 9 - PE, *Kindergarten Buddies*
Tuesday, May 10 - Music
Wednesday, May 11- Art, *Late Start*
Thursday, May 12 - PE
Friday, May 13 - Music, **Library books due**, *Last day of Running Club*
*Class Picnic @ 2PM*
--------------------------------------
Monday, May 16 - Guidance & Computer Lab
Tuesday, May 17 - Field Day 1:20
Wednesday, May 18 - Music
Thursday, May 19 - Art (Field Day make-up)
Friday, May 20 - PE
-------------------------------------
Monday, May 23 - Music
Tuesday, May 24 - Guidance & Computer Lab
Wednesday, May 25- PE, J-Hawk Huddles
Thursday, May 26 - Music
Friday, May 27 - PE, EOY Assembly 1:30, Last Day of 3rd Grade