Mrs. Eske's Team: Building Leaders

4th Grade Newsletter * Week of March 15-18

From the Desk of Mrs. Eske:

I truly hope that everyone had an amazing break! I know that I did, but it was definitely bittersweet because I truly did miss the best fourth grade students ever! I am so happy to be back because I know that 4th Quarter will be our best quarter yet!


Just a friendly reminder that 3rd Quarter reports cards will be sent home this Friday!! Please keep the grade card and sign the envelope to send back with your child. Thank you so much. As always, if you have any questions, feel free to email me at wleske@spsmail.org or call at 523-3929.



Love,

Mrs. Eske

Building LEADERS one subject at a time!

Reading: This week have some special guests from Kickapoo coming in to read aloud stories that they have written and illustrated in French!! We will also be doing some Reader's Theatre, with our first book being Paul Bunyan Builds a Mighty Mountain.

Math: This week we will review so far what we have learned with decimals. We will model tenths and hundredths, write each decimal as a fraction with a denominator or 10 or 100.

Social Studies: This week we will start a new unit, How Missouri Became a State.

Writing: This week we will continue working on writing our fantasy stories!

A Fun-Filled Week Ahead!

Guaranteed to be exciting and fun!

Important Dates and Friendly Reminders:

Tuesday, March 15– Jeffries Texas Roadhouse Night 4-8PM (students dance at 7PM) Wednesday, March 16– Parents as Teachers K-Prep 12:30PM & Future Jaguars 1:30-2:15PM (library)

Thursday, March 17- St. Patrick's Day

Friday, March 18– VOICE (Career Fair) for 3-5th Grade (organized by Mrs. Livingston from 9AM-12PM; PTA Spring Fundraiser Major Saver Kick-Off Assembly

Tuesday, March 22– 4th Grade Field Trip to the Springfield Symphony

Wednesday, March 23– Class Pictures, Spring Individual Pictures and 5th Grade Graduation Pictures

Monday, March 28- Jeffries Math Night 4:30-6:00PM


Friday, April 1– Leadership Assembly

Tuesday, April 5- Jaguar Junction

Thursday, April 7- PTA Executive Mtg. 6:30PM

Sunday, April 10- Happy birthday, Dr. Cooper

Tuesday, April 12– PTA General Mtg. with Kindergarten Performance at 7PM

Wednesday, April 13– Parents as Teachers K-Prep 12:30 & Future Jaguars 1:30-2:15PM

Friday, April 15- Professional Learning Day; No School for Students

Tuesday, April 19- 5th grade students go to the Cardinals Game 9-1:30PM (tentatively)

Friday, April 22- Last Day for library checkout (books can be kept until May 2); Springfield Orchestra Percussion Ensemble Assembly 9:30AM (for interested grade levels, K-5)- in the gym

Have a great week, Jaguars!!! More to come...