PCSD Student Support Services

A weekly dose of encouragement for students and families

Week of June 8, 2020

  • Self-Care Tips
  • Gratitude
  • Helping Children Cope
  • 7 Minute HIIT Workout
  • Dance!
Big picture

Gratitude - Giving Thanks Can Make You Happier

The word gratitude is derived from the Latin word gratia, which means grace, graciousness, or gratefulness (depending on the context). In some ways gratitude encompasses all of these meanings.


Gratitude is a thankful appreciation for what an individual receives, whether tangible or intangible. With gratitude, people acknowledge the goodness in their lives. In the process, people usually recognize that the source of that goodness lies at least partially outside themselves. As a result, gratitude also helps people connect to something larger than themselves as individuals — whether to other people, nature, or a higher power.


In positive psychology research, gratitude is strongly and consistently associated with greater happiness. Gratitude helps people:


  • Feel more positive emotions
  • Relish good experiences
  • Improve their health
  • Deal with adversity, and
  • Build strong relationships.



To read more: https://www.health.harvard.edu/healthbeat/giving-thanks-can-make-you-happier

Big picture
Big picture

Experts in child development encourage parents to relax and focus on bonding and connection.

“This is not about perfection in any way. This is about being good enough,” says Dr. Tovah Klein, director of Barnard’s Center for Toddler Development. “Be reasonable. What you could do before, you cannot do now and that’s OK.”

Here are 9 ways to help your children through the coronavirus crisis.

Big picture
Jimmy Fallon, Billy Idol & The Roots Remix "Dancing with Myself" (At-Home Instruments)

Reach Out Anytime!

PHS:

Alan Feazelle - afeazelle@plattscsd.org

Amy Tisdale - atisdale@plattscsd.org

Rory LaPage - rlapage@plattscsd.org

Sunshine Quinn - squinn@plattscsd.org

James DeBella - jdebella@plattscsd.org


SMS:

Christina Santella - csantella@plattscsd.org

Grace Prue - gprue@plattscsd.org

Janet Hankins - jhankins@plattscsd.org

Kelly Bilow - kbilow@plattscsd.org


Momot:

Kelly Cooper - kcooper@plattscsd.org

Mindy Fay - mfay@plattscsd.org

Savannah Therrien - sdouglas@plattscsd.org

Tracie McCarthy - tmccarthy@plattscsd.org


Oak:

Garret McLean - gmclean@plattscsd.org

Kristy Clark - kclark@plattscsd.org


Bailey:

Tracey Giroux - tgiroux@plattscsd.org

Sheldon Cullen - scullen@plattscsd.org