Ariel Bridenstine Hr 4


Grains include:

  • Wheat
  • Barley
  • Rice
  • Oats
  • Cornmeal
  • Other cereal grains

Grains make:

  • Bread
  • Pasta
  • Oatmeal
  • Cereals
  • Tortillas
  • Grits

Whole Grains and Refined Grains

The grains group is divided 2 subcategories Whole Grains and Refined Grains. Whole grains are when all parts of the grain are used to make flour. Refined Grains cut out parts of nutrients including:

  • dietary fiber
  • iron
  • and many B vitamins

Explaining the ounce, Nutrient, health benefits, food labels, and tips

The ounce is one slice of bread, 1 cup of ready-to-eat cereal, or ½ cup of cooked rice, cooked pasta, or cooked cereal can be considered as 1 ounce-equivalent from the Grains Group.

Nutrients you need from bread are:

  • B vitamins improve red blood cells
  • Iron carries oxygen to the blood
  • Magnesium is a mineral used in building bones and releasing energy from muscles
Health benefits:

  • reduce the risk of heart disease
  • reduce constipation
  • help with weight management
  • folate before and during pregnancy helps prevent neural tube defects during fetal development.

Food labels and tips

  • Foods labeled with the words "multi-grain," "stone-ground," "100% wheat," "cracked wheat," "seven-grain," or "bran" are usually not whole-grain products
  • Color is not an indication of a whole grain

These foods you want to eat:

  • brown rice
  • buckwheat
  • bulgur
  • millet
  • oatmeal
  • popcorn
  • quinoa
  • rolled oats
  • whole-grain barley
  • whole-grain corn
  • whole-grain sorghum
  • whole-grain triticale
  • whole oats
  • whole rye
  • whole wheat
  • wild rice