Rome Government

By: Dami Aletor

What type of government is Rome?

Rome is Representative Democracy, is a system of government in which all eligible citizens vote on representatives to pass laws for them. They have 3 main branches in the government. Checks and balances is the system that is used to keep the branches from getting too powerful than the rest of the branches. During meetings, they meet in the Roman Forum. Therefore, citizens can observe what is changing in their government.

Big image

What are the three different types of government? What do they mean?

The three branches of government are Consuls, Senate, and Legislative Assemblies:

The Consuls hold executive power and controlled the army. The Senate represents the power of the patrician families and advised the other branches and controlled the treasury.

The Legislative Assemblies pass laws and public officials are elected.

Big image

What are the citizens role in this government?

The citizens vote for the election of the president, and they also vote for laws. Unlike a Monarchy, Oligarchy, or Theocracy, citizens have choices in this government.

Big image