Fork Shoals Library Ledger

News for the week of August 24, 2015

Fork Shoals School Library

Ms. Kelly L. Knight, Librarian

Mrs. Allison Meredith, Library Clerk

FSS Library Blog

Fork Shoals School Library Blog

Summer activity and reading logs are due this week!

All summer activity and reading logs are due to Ms. Knight this Friday, August 28th.


PLEASE remember to total all pages read for summer reading before turning in your reading logs!

The 1st quarter reading challenge is underway!

Your child's goal: Read as many pages as possible between now and October 22nd. Reading logs MUST be turned in to Ms. Knight no later than Wednesday, October 28th. We’ll have prizes for those who read the most in each grade level, and every participant will receive recognition!


How do you record reading?

Students will receive reading logs during their class' library orientation, but you can print out a reading log here if you want to begin documenting books read. List books (with page numbers) as you complete them. An adult must sign by each book read. Add the total number of pages read during the 1st quarter.

Interested in the News Team?

Ms. Knight is looking for a few good students to be on this year's News Team! Auditions are open to any 4th or 5th grade student.


Interested students can pick up an application packet in the library. Applications MUST be turned in by Wednesday, September 2nd! Auditions will be held on September 3rd and 4th. The announcement of the 15-16 News Team will be at the end of school on Friday, September 4th.


An electronic copy of the application packet is also available here and on the library blog.

Book of the Week: Warning: Do Not Open This Book!

Warning: Do Not Open This Book!, narrated by Adam Lehrhaupt and illustrated by Matthew Forsythe, is a nominee for the 2015-16 South Carolina Picture Book Award.

Warning: Do Not Open This Book! is a great interactive picture book perfect for fans of Mo Willems' We Are in a Book! and B.J. Novak's The Book With No Pictures. It invites the reader to really be a part of the story and figure out a way to keep messy monkeys, noisy toucans, and scary alligators from tearing the book to pieces. The solution? A banana trap, of course.

Readers young and old are sure to find something to enjoy in Warning: Do Not Open This Book! It is an engaging book that tears down the fourth wall between author/illustrator and reader. The reader is just as important to a successful telling of this story as those who penned it.

Knight Reader Junior

Explore books for the elementary school crowd!

Are you reading the SC Book Award nominees?

Every year, the South Carolina Association of School Librarians nominates twenty books for four different Book Award levels: Picture, Children's, Junior, and Young Adult. Fork Shoals participates in both the Picture and Children's Book Award programs. Students who read at least five books from each level are eligible to vote for their favorite in February!


Click here for a handy checkoff sheet to keep track of your Book Award reading, and check out the videos below for a quick glimpse at this year's nominees!

15-16 SCPBA nominees
15-16 SCCBA Nominees

Dates to Remember:

  • August 24-28 - 2nd-5th grade library orientation
  • August 25 - Washington, DC parent meeting (5th grade only) - 5:30pm
  • August 26 - Bellacino's Night
  • August 28 - Spirit Day; Summer activity and reading logs due
  • August 31-September 4 - K5/1st grade library orientation
  • September 1-25 - Fall MAP testing (Teacher will send specific date.)
  • September 2 - News Team applications due
  • September 3 - Moe's Night
  • September 3-4 - News Team auditions
  • September 4 - 15-16 News Team members announced
  • September 7 - Labor Day (Schools and offices will be closed.)

Forms

Please turn in all important forms as soon as possible. We want to be sure that we have all important information.

School hours

School begins at 8:00. If students arrive after the staff member on duty has left the post out front, an adult must come to the office to sign the child in. Students should arrive by 7:30 if they are planning to eat breakfast. Remember that all students should be picked up no later than 3:00. This is for safety purposes.

Spirit nights

Spirit Nights are a way to support our school. Take a break from the kitchen, visit with Fork Shoals friends, and a portion of the proceeds comes back to our school. Our first one is this week at Bellacino’s in Simpsonville.

PTA information

Please consider joining PTA. It would be great to have 100% membership! Also, remember to fill out volunteer forms. There are many ways to volunteer at Fork Shoals. PTA information can be found in this week’s folders.