MJS Class of 2016

A Newsletter for All Things 8th Grade

Week of January 11, 2016

Requesting Parent Volunteers: January is Mosaic Month at MJS and we need you!

Mosaic Month is a beautiful celebration of the cultural diversity that exists in our community and we rely on our parent volunteers to help make it happen. The culminating event is the International Heritage Fair on Friday, January 29th. If you are interested in either creating a cultural table for the fair or in helping out behind the scenes, please contact Ms. Myvonwynn Hopton mhopton@mayfieldjs.org as soon as possible. Thank you!

Curriculum Spotlight: French

French students celebrated "L'epiphanie" (The Feast of the Epiphany) on Thursday. Jenna found the bean in her slice of cake and was crowned "La Reine de La Journee!"

Follow Your Dreams- Class of 2016

Inspired by the words of Martin Luther King, Jr.'s famous "I have a dream" speech, each 8th grader has written their own version focusing on the change that they would like to make in the world. Students shared their speeches in class on Friday, December 18, and then chose a quote to add to our class mural. Please come see the finished Yellow Brick Road mural in the Hayden Building stairwell.


***8th graders will be sharing their speeches during Morning Prayer over the next two weeks! Please check them out by watching the Morning Prayer channel (filmed by our Commissioners of Technology Keira Myles and Gus Maltzan).

1/8/16 Friday Families: Hour of Code!

In Friday Families, students watched a video about coding and then became "human programs". One leader was the "programmer" and verbally gave directions, or lines of code, to the rest of the group to perform. We are getting excited for the Hour of Code event next week!

8th Grade Reach Out: St. Francis Center

Student ambassadors to St. Francis Center on Tuesday, January 5th will be Keira, Kate, Sebastian, and Meghan For the complete schedule and more information on our Reach Out, please click here.


Thank you to Mrs. Dilbeck for your supervision of this Reach Out and to all of our parent drivers!

Big image

LET'S GO MUSTANGS!

Please come and support our Mayfield Mustangs! Here is what's coming up this week, for the complete season schedule, please visit the "MJS Athletics" page on the parent portal.


JAN 12: Boys B Soccer Only (No A Game)

Start 3:15 PM vs Gooden

Location: Mayfield


JAN 14: Boys A and B Soccer

Start 3:00 PM vs Rio Hondo

Location: Mayfield


JAN 14: Girls A and B Basketball

Start 3:00 PM vs. Rio Hondo

Location: Mayfield-Gym


Have you followed us on Twitter yet? @MJSAthletics It's a great way to get up-to-date game results!

Things to Look Forward to...

  • Wednesday, January 13: Hour of Code
  • Thursday, January 14: Cornelia Connelly Mass, 9am GYM (Concert Dress)
  • Monday, January 18: No School, Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
  • Friday, January 22: Mix it Up Lunch
  • Friday, January 29: Mosaic Month Celebration
Big image

8th Grade Advisory Team

Pamela Danni, Team Leader and Director of Student Activities (pdanni@mayfieldjs.org)

Lisa Byrne, Advisor, Play Director, and Co-Team Leader (lbyrne@mayfieldjs.org)

Chris Goethals, Advisor and Secondary School Liaison (cgoethals@mayfieldjs.org)

Juan Garcia, Advisor and Student Council Leader (jgarcia@mayfieldjs.org)

Ruth Villarreal, Advisor and Athletics Director (rvillarreal@mayfieldjs.org)

To view last week's newsletter...