Bulldog Digital Academy Updates

December 11, 2020

Please Call the BDA At:

216-475-8105 ext. 53036 for absences, questions, to share successes!

While we are working from home on Fridays, we will be emailing to check on any non-reported absences.

BDA Spirit Week

Big picture

Second Semester Decision Time!!!!!

Ok families, it is time to make a decision for second semester. Of course, I want you all to stay in the BDA, but we all know that this is a decision that you have to make with your family on what is best for you and your family.

Mrs Reisland sent out an email to all of you explaining the process and how it will work with a link to fill out if you want to LEAVE the BDA. This link only needs filled out if you are planning to LEAVE the BDA for the remainder of the school year.


Things to think about:

If you leave the BDA;

You will have new teachers, you will be on the hybrid model when you do return to in person learning - some days in person, some days online, and you will have new classmates

If you stay in the BDA;

Teachers will stay the same, classmates will stay the same, schedule will stay the same - (as long as we don't lose too many students, which I do not see happening)


**Please consider your options before filling out the form below. If you do choose to leave the BDA, please fill it out for each child you have enrolled in the BDA.


We greatly appreciate all of your support throughout this school year, and we hope to keep working together for the rest of this school year and years to come :-)


**DEADLINE -- Must be done by Tuesday, December 15th**


Here is the link in case you missed it: https://forms.gle/ixcQBmFnK1MeMMMc9

We Are A Team - Is Your Child Trying Their Best?

Thank you for reaching out to the BDA team members with all concerns regarding your child's education. Please note that the teachers are working very hard to ensure that all students are passing and successful in their classes. That being said, the students need to do their part as well. The students need to be in class at the designated times, trying their best, asking questions, completing their work, etc. If your child is struggling, please reach out to your child's teacher(s) right away. Please do not wait until the end of the quarter when grades are due. We ALL want your child to be successful, and we will do everything in our power to help that happen. This is a different way of learning that can be easier for some, and also harder for others. We are a team. You as the parent, us as the educators, and your child are all one team for one common goal, educational success. Please always reach out to the teacher first as they are the ones that will be able to help right away, but please know that you can always reach out to me, Mrs Morris, as well. We appreciate all that you do for our students each and every day.

Asynchronous Wednesdays

Asynchronous Wednesday does not mean it is a "free day". This is a day to catch up on work that needs completed, complete work that you have fallen behind on, meet with teachers to ask questions or get clarification, work in small groups for extra help or enrichment, work one on one with your teacher or tutor, etc. Your attendance is still mandatory for any group you are assigned to, and for any work that is posted in your Google Classrooms from your teachers. Please make sure that you are attending your groups and completing your work. If you have any questions about this, PLEASE reach out to your child's teacher.


If you have questions still about your child's teacher's office hours, small group times, etc, please reach out to your child's teacher with the emails listed below in this newsletter. We are here to assist you and help to make your child successful, we are a TEAM :-)

Administrator Notes

Mrs. Morris's Reflections


- Please note that after office hours, teachers may not be able to respond until the next business day. I encourage my teachers to make time for their own families while also being responsive to our parents. Please give them 24 hours to respond. We appreciate all of you!


- If you would like to join the BDA remind group, please text 81010 @ghcsbda


- Please make sure that your child is completing their work. I know it is tempting to jump in and help them, but we need them to do the work. We need this to be as much like school as possible, and we need the students interacting and doing their work. Please also know that if you need to assist your child logging on and or navigating to a particular place, we appreciate that, but we can not have you logged on in the classroom as well all day. We can only allow our students to be logged into the zoom call. There are many reasons for this, and we appreciate your support and understanding on this matter.


- Make sure you are using the computer for the appropriate use. They are for attending class and completing school work. Teachers are reporting that some students are on all kinds of websites, chatting with each other, playing around on their camera, so please talk to your child about appropriate use and internet safety. Most of this is occuring in the afternoon.


- When on zoom with your teachers and classmates in class, it is to be treated as if you were at school physically together. Appropriate language both verbally and in the chat is mandatory. Poor language and inappropriate actions will result in disciplinary action and being removed from the lesson.


- If your child is going to be absent, leave early, or come late - please call 216-475-8105 ext 53036 and let us know so we can mark the attendance correctly. If we are on the other line, please leave a message, and we will check it regularly. Please do not call the student's home school, please call the mentioned number and extension.


- Best way to reach our teachers is through their email, and they are all listed below. It is wonderful to have Google Classroom, Google phone numbers, Remind, etc, but teachers are requesting that you contact them through their email. This is the easiest and quickest way for them to track their messages, responses, and give help where they can. We do not want to miss any of your questions or concerns, so please email the teachers. We are here to assist however we can. Please note that the teacher should also be the first contact as they will usually have the right answer before we will.


- Best way to reach me is also through my email. I am able to answer those the quickest whether I am on the phone or in a meeting.

Upcoming Events

December 14-------------------------BDA Spirit Week Begins (See Picture Above)

December 16-------------------------Asynchronous Wednesday (no live classes)

December 23-31 -------------------Winter Break

January 1------------------------------Winter Break Continues

January 18----------------------------Martin Luther King, Jr Day - No School

January 22----------------------------End of 2nd Quarter

January 29----------------------------Professional Day - No School for Students

Big picture

Bulldogs Digital Academy Staff

Kindergarten:

Melissa Irvine mirvine@ghbulldogs.org

Alyssa Reichard areichard@ghbulldogs.org


First Grade:

Melissa Flood mflood@ghbulldogs.org

Amy Halusker ahalusker@ghbulldogs.org


Second Grade:

Heather Corporan hcorporan@ghbulldogs.org

Ashley McWilliams amcwilliams@ghbulldogs.org

Jen Molnar jmolnar@ghbulldogs.org


Third Grade:

Christina Brown cbrown@ghbulldogs.org

Krystal Parnin kparnin@ghbulldogs.org

Leigh Ann Pustai lpustai@ghbulldogs.org


Fourth Grade:

(ELA)Marcie O’Hanlon mohanlon@ghbulldogs.org

(Math) Jamie Shaw jdshaw@ghbulldogs.org

(Science) Lori Frank lfrank@ghbulldogs.org

(S.Studies) Carrie Spelich cspelich@ghbulldogs.org


Fifth Grade:

(ELA) Martha Hach mhach@ghbulldogs.org

(Math) Debby Hrin dahrin@ghbulldogs.org

(Science) Lisa Mullins lamullins@ghbulldogs.org

(S.Studies) Melissa Herman mherman@ghbulldogs.org


Sixth Grade:

(ELA) Katie Skocdopole kskocdopole@ghbulldogs.org

(Math) Nick Lawrinson nlawrinson@ghbulldogs.org

(Science) Jon Mockbee jcmockbee@ghbulldogs.org

(S.Studies) Jill Cooke jcooke@ghbulldogs.org


Seventh Grade:

(ELA) Nicole Thomas nthomas@ghbulldogs.org

(Math) Carla Brayer cbrayer@ghbulldogs.org

(Science) Victoria Tomasheski vatomasheski@ghbulldogs.org

(S.Studies) Benjamin Harreld bharreld@ghbulldogs.org


Eighth Grade:

(ELA) Dave Schillero dschillero@ghbulldogs.org

(Math) Keith Kneisel kkneisel@ghbulldogs.org

(Science) Bethany Guzoski bguzoski@ghbulldogs.org

(S.Studies) Alyssa Maki amaki@ghbulldogs.org


Intervention Specialists

(K-5 Maple Leaf) Annie Jennings ajennings@ghbulldogs.org

(K-5 William Foster) Nora Lopez nclopez@ghbulldogs.org

(K-5 Elmwood) Amy Pullen apullen@ghbulldogs.org

(6th Grade) Lana Mastroianni lmastroianni@ghbulldogs.org

(7th Grade) Nicole Ramos nramos@ghbulldogs.org

(8th Grade) Molly Dise mdise@ghbulldogs.org


Supports:

(Technology) Shannon Bailor srbailor@ghbulldogs.org

(Librarian/Story Time) Kelly Rose krose@ghbulldogs.org

(Academic Support) Carolyn Angello cmangello@ghbulldogs.org

(Guidance Counselor) Michael Banyasz mbanyasz@ghbulldogs.org

(Support/Secretary) Connie Kingsmill ckingsmill@ghbulldogs.org

(Administrator) Brynn Morris bmorris@ghbulldogs.org



Click below to see a little bit about each staff member:

https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/e/2PACX-1vQxuFmyHYW4g8OcoUPxi4Y4jbgmIZjtG_9UnokMbTg9RHQnVLB_NgNLCW7k9fBu8otC597QO4LvcPCE/pub?start=false&loop=false&delayms=15000&fbclid=IwAR1RpU8bUvURuvn94vm7ozEVUsNYFm7Q9Rm0y_caVCUxUdP0qCtb4mKqvLU&slide=id.p

Things to Know...

1. If your child has to be absent - a phone call still needs to be placed so that we can mark him excused. Please call 216-475-8105 ext. 53036.


2. We will be using the Remind app to get in touch with you throughout the day and also to deliver much needed information directly to your phone. Please make sure to sign up for this by texting 81010 @ ghcsbda

Troubles With Your Chromebook

**If you are having technical issues, please contact your child's teacher first. If they are unable to fix the problem, please complete the tech ticket below so our technology department can look into the issue to assist.**


Create a ticket:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fxDa2Z0Kf3c&feature=youtu.be


Here is the link to the website: https://apps.learn21.org/GarfieldHeightsOH/one2one/Kiosk#MatchAssignment

Big picture

Meal Service for Our Students

Grab & Go Meals Survey

We are excited to offer meal service to our students during virtual learning. We want to make meals accessible to you.

There will be 2 options available:
-- "Grab & Go" curbside meal service, where families can drive to a designated school and pick up meals for their student(s) daily OR
-- "Direct to you Delivery Service," where we will deliver 1 day's worth of food (breakfast & lunch) directly to your house for each student.

Please note: Some students may not be eligible for Delivery Service if they live very close to a school.

Please complete this survey to help us create a plan that best serves you & your family!

https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSeqEWFZF-_b5POvf3xRTrd1tuQUVJvIR89JqWDGheeai3FCoQ/viewform?usp=sf_link

Extra Support/Services Needed???

If your child or family could benefit from:

- Counseling services

- Mental health services

- Education and prevention services

- Consultation services

- Home visits and support

- Anger management

- Many other services and supports


Please contact Mrs. Gina Wilson, Family and Civic Engagement Coordinator

gwilson@ghbulldogs.org

Middle School Bell Schedule

Big picture

Student Expectations For Zoom

Big picture