Multilingual Families Newsletter

December 2021

World Children’s Day

In celebration of World Children’s Day, the local nonprofit organization, M.T.O. Shahmaghsoudi® Houston, generously donated 50 packages of school supplies and hand-sewn face masks to the Language Testing Center. In addition to language testing and program placement, the center welcomes immigrant and refugee students to Fort Bend ISD, and some of those students are in need of supplies to get started in their new school. M.T.O.’s global charity efforts have been supporting local communities in need with donations of essential supplies, PPE, and food in wake of the global COVID-19 pandemic. The donations also included information about Tamarkoz® Meditation, which offers free, live, guided meditation sessions for families in 10 different languages through their app and Instagram/Facebook pages.
Big picture

TEA - Support to Help Ensure Your Child is On Track This School Year

TEA has released a new parent resource web page that features information on accelerated learning and related tutoring supports being provided to all students who are working to overcome the learning disruptions caused by COVID-19.

Please feel free to share with your parents.

Supporting English Learners

Welcome to the web portal designed to provide you and your family with information and resources in the pages below to ensure the academic success of your child.
Big picture

DIRECTORY

Director:

Tinou (Angela) Tran, Ed.D. Angela.Tran@fortbendisd.com

(281) 634-0480


Assistant Director:

Marianella Moore, Ed.D. Marianella.Moore@fortbendisd.com

(281) 634-0806


Multilingual Compliance Officer:

Youngmee Hsu Youngmee.Hsu@fortbendisd.com

(281) 634-1138


Senior Administrative Associate Teaching and Learning:

Sandra Ontiveros Sandra.Ontiveros@fortbendisd.com

(281) 634-1137


Associate Administrative Teaching and Learning

Chambers, Chrissy Chrissy.Chambers@fortbendisd.com

(281) 634-1268


World Languages Coordinator:

Melissa Vargas Melissa.Vargas@fortbendisd.com

(281) 634-1237


Bilingual Program Coordinator:

José Barrera Jose.Barrera@fortbendisd.com

(281) 634-1553


Bilingual Program Specialist:

Carolina Álvarez Carolina.Alvarez@fortbendisd.com

281-634-8448


Elementary ESL Coordinator:

Lili Dibai Lili.Dibai@fortbendisd.com

(281) 634-7990


Elementary ESL Coordinator:

Lee Glaesemann Lee.Glaesemann@fortbendisd.com

(281) 634-5803


Secondary ESL Coordinator:

Joël Johnson Joel.Johnson@fortbendisd.com

(281) 634-1365


Newcomer Specialist

Caroline LeBlanc Caroline.LeBlanc@fortbendisd.com

(281) 634-48707


Language Testing Center:

1555 Independence Boulevard,

Missouri City, Texas 77489

(North-West corner of Progressive High School)

281-634-8465