Branches of Government

Shelby Santor


The three branches of the United States government are Executive, Judicial, and Legislative Branches. Each of the branches has a very important role in keeping the government running. The main reasons for having three branches are to equally distribute power, and prevent tyranny and dictatorship. The president is part of the Executive Branch along with about 5 million other workers who enforces the laws. The Judicial Branch contains the Supreme Court and 9 Justices who hear cases about issues with the constitution. The Senate and House of Representatives make up Congress in the Legislative Branch. The Legislative branch makes the laws.

Why the Founding Fathers Created the Constitution

The founding fathers felt that it was important to equally distribute the power of the government and to make sure that it was not too powerful. They wanted to give power to everyone rather than focusing all of the power in one place. They created the Bill of Rights in order to protect the rights of every citizen and to limit the power of the federal government.

What Do the Branches Do?

Executive: The Executive Branch is the branch that enforces the laws that Congress writes. The President and the Cabinet can also pass or veto new laws that are sent to them by Congress.

Legislative: Made up by Congress, which includes the House of Representatives and the Senate, the Legislative Branch proposes new laws that will be passed or vetoed by the president.

Judicial: The Judicial Branch oversee the United States court system. This branch is made up by the Supreme Court and their job is to interpret and explain the constitution and the laws that were written by Congress.

Branch in the News

President Obama, part of the Executive Branch, uses executive orders to give citizenship to about 5 million illegal immigrants.