The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award

Jordan Heller and Stephen Moyers

The Award

  • Annual award to the author and illustrator of most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in the United States the previous year.
  • Established in 2004, but started being presented in 2006. 1 book is selected each year as winner along with several honor books.
  • Winners receive a bronze metal as award. It is presented at the ALA (American library Association) Annual Conference.
  • The committee for this award is appointed by the head of ALA.
  • If the committee finds no such book suitable for the award, none will be selected for that year.

Criteria for the Award

  • 2 copies of the book must be sent in for submission by December 31 to be eligible for the award the next year.
  • Must be a minimum of 24 pages, maximum of 96.
  • Must be directed towards Pre-K-2nd grade level.
  • Authors and illustrators must be citizens or residents of the US.

Notable Authors

Many of authors who have won this award are famous for many children's books. Bink and Gollie is a part of a collection about the two characters and is very popular. Henry and Mudge also have their own series of chapter books that can grow with the reader. Cynthia Rylant is also notable for being a West Virginia author and has numerous books about the state. Mo Willems is best known for his book Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus.