WHPE November Update

Big image

Another Successful Convention!

It is hard to believe that we are week away from Thanksgiving and that the WHPE Convention was almost three weeks ago! And what a convention it was! We had standing room only in our General Assembly and for our Keynote speaker Naomi Hartl! I want to thank all of the presenters who volunteered their time to share their expertise. It was by far one of the best I have attended. We have always done well with our physical activity sessions but the health sessions this year were also packed and simply inspiring!


We need to thank all of our vendors and most of all I want to thank all of the staff who volunteered to put on such a phenomenal convention. We unveiled our new convention app thanks to True Vang's hard work. As part of the App, we had an exhibitor bingo and our two winners were Jennifer Galbrecht and Sierra Dart. Both of whom have won a free WHPE membership for one year!


it is also time to congratulate all of our new board members and most importantly Patty Kestell, the new President Elect for WHPE! WHPE is going to be in great hands and I can't wait to see what she brings to the position!


Finally, if you have not done so, please fill out the online evaluation for the convention. We need your feedback so we can make it even better next year (which will be at the Wilderness Lodge in Wisconsin Dells!


http://kww.net/whpe/survey.php


Sincerely,



Brett Fuller

WHPE President

"We're Built to Move"

American Heart Association Speakers Inspire Us All!

The American Heart Association brought two speakers this year to thank us for the hard and important work that is done through Jump Rope/Hoops for Heart. They were both excellent and their stories were moving.


One especially stole the show, check out "Jackson's Life" below.

Time to register for Jump Rope/Hoops for Heart!

Jackson challenged the membership to continue the work that we are doing with Jump Rope/Hoops for Heart. That would also include having people who are not doing an event stepping up and doing one. Jump Rope/Hoops for Heart is more than a fundraiser. It saves lives and it educates our children and families. Please contact one of the American Heart Association Youth Marketing directors below if you have not signed up for an event yet!


Northern Wisconsin/UP MI

Amy.Calouette@heart.org

Northeast WI (Green Bay)

Korren.Jewitt@heart.org

Northeast WI (Oshkosh)

Jackie.Weir@heart.org

Central WI

Kristine.Lange@heart.org

North Central, WI (Eau Claire)

Renee.M.Davis@heart.org

Southwest WI

Samantha.Berg@heart.org

Lakeshore/MPS

Tim.Nikolai@heart.org

Kenosha/Racine

Lisa.Schweitzer@heart.org

North/West Milwaukee, Columbia County

Marylee.Flannigan@heart.org

When in doubt…

Kori.Coffeen@heart.org

SHAPE America Webinars

SHAPE America continues to bring forward some great webinars. Check out the list of upcoming webinars.

More on Recess

Last month I shared a blog by a good friend, Paul Rosengard, who talked about the importance of Recess. Here is another article. Let's keep fighting for recess for all students!

Something for our Future Professionals

2016 WHPE State Convention call for proposals!

Friday, March 11th 2016 at 11:45pm

This is an online event.

Let's start thinking about the 2016 Convention at the Wilderness Lodge in Wisconin Dells. The link for presentations will be active soon!


Check out the whpe.us

2016 WHPE Awards

Monday, Feb. 1st 2016 at 11:45pm

This is an online event.

Nominations for the 2016 WHPE Awards are due by February 1, 2016.


Check out whpe.us