Eye of the Storm

Parent News - Spring Open House - September 1, 2021

Message from Principal Roberson

Hello Mighty Cane Families and Friends,


This week we will host our virtual open house on Wednesday September 1st at 6:00 pm. We look forward to seeing all parents and guardians that evening. Access to open house will be through our Eye of the Storm newsletter, our campus website, and Schoology. Open house will be set up for you to visit with grade level administrators and counselors, as well as your child’s teachers. The virtual meeting platform we will use will be Microsoft Teams. Be sure to check your email regularly as more information will be coming your way over the next 2-3 days. FBISD and Hightower High School are committed to the safety of all our students. We currently are encouraging all staff and students to wear mask daily until further notice. Please speak with your child to make sure they understand the expectations, and encourage them to come to school wearing a mask as we do our best to keep everyone safe. Campus sporting and fine arts events are underway and we need your support. Our students have been working extremely hard, and we would love for our parents and community to attend school events as we continue to build on the strong traditions that are present at Hightower High School. Thank you parents for all that you do and thank you being Committed to Excellence!


Sincerely,

Mr. Roberson

Virtual Open House Schedule

On Wednesday, September 1st, Grade Presentations w/ APs are 6:00 p.m. – 6:20 p.m.

P1 6:20 p.m. – 6:30 p.m.

P2 6:30 p.m. – 6:40 p.m.

P3 6:40 p.m. – 6:50 p.m.

P4 6:50 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.

P5 7:00 p.m. – 7:10 p.m.

P6 7:10 p.m. – 7:20 p.m.

P7 7:20 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.

P8 7:30 p.m. – 7:40 p.m.

Grade Level Presentations

Grade level assistant principal presentation links (below) will go live on Wednesday, September 1st. Save this newsletter to use on Wednesday. Parents will be able to come and go to the session with the counselors. See you soon!

Teacher Virtual Links

Please download the document below to get a full list of teachers and access to their Micro Soft Teams links. You will be able to visit via cell phone, computer, or tablet.

Skyward and Schoology Access

Select the downloads below to access Skyward to check your child's grades or class schedule; and Schoology to access the course of your child's teacher. All teachers have a "Parent Folder" of essential information in Schoology.

ADMINISTRATORS:

Andre Roberson - Principal - andre.roberson@fortbendisd.com

Erik Smith - Associate Principal - erik.smith@fortbendisd.com

Ronnie Adams - Assistant Principal - ronnie.adams@fortbendisd.com

Samuel Burton - 12th Grade Assistant Principal - sam.burton@fortbendisd.com

Dr. Sharon Delesbore - 11th Grade Assistant Principal - sharon.delesbore@fortbendisd.com

James Kirkpatrick - 10th Grade Assistant Principal - james.kirkpatrick@fortbendisd.com

Hilda Salinas - 9th Grade Assistant Principal - hilda.salinas@fortbendisd.com

Mary Green-Lee - Dean of Instruction - mary.green@fortbendisd.com

Adrienne Towns - Dean of P-TECH K1 - adrienne.towns@fortbendisd.com

COUNSELORS:

Angela Garcia - Lead Counselor - angela.garcia@fortbendisd.com

Irvin Casely-Hayford - 12th Grade Counselor - irvin.caselyhayford@fortbendisd.com

Rose Powell - 11th Grade Counselor - rose.powell@fortbendisd.com

Jennifer Lacy - 10th Grade Counselor - jennifer.lacy@fortbendisd.com

Nicole Nguyen - 9th Grade Counselor - nicole.nguyen@fortbendisd.com

Latisha Saunders - Positive Intervention Counselor - latisha.saunders@fortbendisd.com

Ira Lynn Lewis - P-TECH Counselor - ira.lynn@fortbendisd.com

Jackie Hidalgo - College & Career Advisor - jackie.hidalgo@fortbendisd.com

Big picture

2021-2021 Regular HHS Bell Schedule

Big picture

A/B Class Schedules

Hightower High School is one of three high school that will be piloting an A/B block schedule, which divides an eight-period day over two school days, creating an “A Day,” during which students attend periods 1, 2, 3, and 4, and an alternating “B Day,” during which students attend periods 5, 6, 7, and 8. At HHS, every Monday and Wednesday will be an "A Day" and every Tuesday and Thursday will be a "B Day". Fridays will alternate "A" and "B" days. All other high schools and middle schools will have seven period days.

The district website shares that block scheduling has been shown, in some cases, to reduce student anxiety by virtue of smaller number of periods in the school day and extended time to delve into learning and collaborative opportunities. An additional benefit to block scheduling is that it provides more time for teachers to participate in high performing professional learning communities to increase alignment and effectiveness in instruction and development of targeted intervention and enrichment strategies.

FBISD will evaluate the effectiveness of the pilot, along with the needs of each campus, to determine the type of schedule that best meets the needs of each campus moving forward. For additional details, review the A/B Block Scheduling Pilot FAQ.

Free Lunch

Fort Bend ISD is offering free lunches for all students. Although this is being provided for the 2021-2022 school year, parents are still encouraged to complete the Free & Reduced Meals application at www.schoolcafe.com/fbisd, beginning August 2. Visit the FBISD Child Nutrition webpage to learn about other benefits available to families.

Progress Reports and Report Cards

Fort Bend ISD progress reports and report cards are distributed online. Parents will be able to access their student’s grades through Family Access and will be notified via email when they are available to view.


Please ensure that your email address and other contact information is up-to-date in Skyward.