Davis Staff Friday Flyer

Deep in the Heart of Davis

Don't focus so much on the how that you lose sight of the why.

I had the privilege of hearing a 25 year old college student named, Travis Allen, speak this week about the importance of technology in education but also the importance of inspiring and not just teaching. He's not a teacher and has never been a teacher, but he provided the unique angle of the student. He made the point that our world is vastly changing at a pace I had no idea. Just look at the pictures above and think about the jobs that will not be needed one day. These are just some of the industries that will be impacted. We need students who are able to adapt. I encourage you to think about your current practices. How can you ensure that you are inspiring kids? How can we ensure we are not filling vessels but creating them? Like Alan November says, "If is Googlable then its not a good question" and its not creating students who can think. Just think about what small changes you can make to create lasting impressions.

Calendar

January 25 (Wednesday) Critical Friends 3-4pm-Canceled

Jan. 31-Feb. 2 First Grade Conferences

Feb. 1(Wednesday) STAAR and State Testing Security (Whole Staff)

February 3 (Friday) Soup-er Bowl and Pie Baking Contest

February 13-17 Friendship Week (Student Council is working on a theme for each day)

February 14 (Tuesday) Valentine's Day Parties- Schedule to come!

February 20 (Monday) Presidents' Day Holiday for students/ Teacher Learning Day

March 2 (Thursday) Open House 6:00-7:30 PM

March 6-10 Spring Break- No School

March 28 (Tuesday) 4th STAAR Writing & 5th Math STAAR

March 29 (Wednesday) 5th STAAR Reading

April 14 (Friday) Student/Teacher Holiday (2nd Bad Weather Day if Needed)

April 17 (Monday) Student Holiday (1st Bad Weather Day if Needed)

May 8 (Monday) 3rd & 4th Math STAAR

May 9 (Tuesday) 3rd & 4th Reading STAAR

May 10 (Wednesday) 5th STAAR Science

May 26 (Friday) Field Day

May 29 (Monday) Student/Teacher Holiday

June 2 (Friday) Last Day of School/Students Release @ 12

Spotlight on Professional Learning

Getting Students to Ask Better Questions

Great resource! The ability to ask the complex questions is just as valuable as solving them.

Links

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FLaTBapfAeo

Happy Birthday to you!!!

January Birthdays

Edie 1st

Ashleigh 4th

Sarah 8th

Amy H. 19th

Kristy M. 19th

Lara F. 23rd

Frequently Asked Questions

Where can I find new apps and web tools for my learners?

http://k-12.pisd.edu/hotspot/


Plano ISD tech blog

http://planoisdtech.blogspot.com


How do I access the building on the weekends?

Contact Brenda Terenas or Jan West


I need to know how to request a day off/access the copy machine/send a fax.

The staff handbook is located at: https://docs.google.com/a/pisd.edu/document/d/1NRqWSqHZJ8cJ5w1Ck29DxImlK04MijfIdlnOd_8sUmo/edit?usp=sharing