By:Ben Kirkland

Phases of the moon

There are 8 phases of the moon.The first 4 are waxing which means you are seeing more of the moon till the full moon.The other 4 phases are waning which means you see less of the moon.For the whole process to go through takes 28 days.


There are two different types of tides, there are the neap tides and the spring tides. A neap tis when the sun and moon are at a right angle with each other. A spring tide is where the moon,earth and sun are lined up in a straight line.There are also diurnal and semidiurnal tides. Semidiurnal tides have two high and low tides. Diurnal tides have one low tide and one bight tide per day.


Seasons Are the earths rotation on its axis, The hemisphere are all in different parts of earth so there are 4 seasons for each hemisphere. We have day and night because the earth is facing the sun or not facing the sun,.


A lunar eclipse occurs when earths shadow blocks the sun light.A total eclipse is when the shadow covers the whole moon. There are 3 eclipses. There are Partial,total and penumbra. partial lunar eclipse is when a small part of earth covers the moon. a penumbra eclipse is when the moon passes through the earths shadow.

Solar eclipse

A solar eclipse is when the moon moves between earth and the sun and is blocking the suns ray.There are three different stages of the eclipse,the umbra, penumbra and the ant umbra.The umbra is the darkest time of the stage. The penumbra is where part of the sun light is blocked. The ant umbra is where the moon appears to be smaller.