Abraham Maslow

developmental theorist

Maslow's Theory

Abraham wanted to understand what motivates people, he believed people possess a motivational system that is unrelated to rewards or unconscious desires. The earliest and most well known version of Maslow's theory of hierarchy of needs was the pyramid of five motivational needs. This pyramid included, self-actualization, Esteem, social, safety, physiological. Maslow said, "only one in a hundred people become fully self-actualized because our society rewards motivation primarily based on esteem, love and other social needs."

The original Hierarchy of needs

1. Biological and Physiological needs - air, food, drink, shelter, warmth, sex, sleep.

2. Safety needs - protection from elements, security, order, law, limits, stability, freedom from fear.

3. Social Needs - belongingness, affection and love, - from work group, family, friends, romantic relationships.

4. Esteem needs - achievement, mastery, independence, status, dominance, prestige, self-respect, respect from others.

5. Self-Actualization needs - realizing personal potential, self-fulfillment, seeking personal growth and peak experiences.

Maslow's original five stages have been expanded over the years. This change includes a seven stage model and an eight stage model that where developed between 1960 and 1970

Cognitive needs: Knowledge, meaning, etc...

Aesthetic needs: Appreciation and search for beauty, balance, form, etc...

Transcendent needs: helping other to achieve self actualization.

these are the three stages that where added over time.


McLeod, Saul. "Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs." Simply Psychology. Simplypsychology, 2007. Web. 04 Mar. 2014.