Declaration of Independence

Rose Adams

What is it?

The Declaration of Independence is a 29 7/8" by 24 7/16" document that contains 1,458 words including signatures that announced the colonies' decision to become independent from England and to create their own nation. It was written by Thomas Jefferson between June 11th and June 28 of 1776 and was approved and adopted by the 2nd Continental Congress on July 4th, 1776. Congress declared their independence on July 2nd, adopted the Declaration of Independence on the 4th, and it was signed by the 56 members on August 2nd of 1776.
Big image

The Committee Of Five

  • Thomas Jefferson
  • John Adams
  • Benjamin Franklin
  • Roger Sherman
  • Robert R. Livingston

Thomas Jefferson wrote the Declaration in the Graff house, a location outside of the hustle and bustle of the city of Philadelphia where he could concentrate. When he completed his final draft, the rest of the committee met and edited the Declaration. They reduced the document by a fourth of what it had originally been, and it is common knowledge that Jefferson was not pleased with the changes.


Signing the Declaration. N.d. PitneyBowes. Comp. Matthew Broder. Web. 23 Sept. 2014. <>.

"More Declaration Resources." Independence Hall Association, n.d. Web. 22 Sept. 2014. <>.

"The Constitution of the United States: Questions and Answers." National Archives and Records Administration. National Archives and Records Administration, n.d. Web. 21 Sept. 2014. <>.

"Fascinating Facts about the Declaration of Independence." Declaration of Independence Facts, Full Text & Dates To Remember. N.p., n.d. Web. 22 Sept. 2014. <>.