Stepping Into 6th Grade

January 13th - 17th

Important Dates and Upcoming Tests

January 14th - Social Studies Test

January 17th - FMS Blood Drive

February 7th - Sports Spectacular

Big picture
Big picture

ELA

Last week was a great first week back from break! This week we are finishing our gathering research unit by taking a post-test. We are also kicking off the nonfiction unit by doing a close reading of an article about snow days. Please remind your student(s) to bring library books back to school! y books back after break to ensure they can check out some new books for the new year.


If you have any questions or concerns Please Contact:


Mrs. Clark: kclark@fulton58.org

Mrs. Clark: lclark@fulton58.org

Ms. Hervey: ahervey@fulton58.org

Math

Last Week:

What a great first week back!! We dived into the new year by reviewing and retaking the Unit 3 test and then started by dipping our toes into Unit 4: Dividing Fractions by making sense of division.

This Week:

Students will be focusing more on the meanings of fraction division and what that looks like in a diagram.

Vocabulary:

reciprocal

Learning Objective:

I can divide fractions that include mixed numbers.



If you have any questions or concerns Please Contact:

Ms. Grant: cgrant@fulton58.org

Ms. Lechiara: glechiara@fulton58.org

Science

Unit: Rocks and Minerals


This Week: We will start exploring the formation of rocks! Our focus will start on elements and minerals!!


6-8.ESS2.A.1: Develop and use a model to illustrate that energy from Earth’s interior drives convection which cycles Earth’s crust leading to melting, crystallization, weathering, and deformation of large rock formations, including generation of the ocean floor at ridges, submergence of the ocean seafloor at trenches, mountain building, and active volcanic chains.



If you have any questions or concerns Please Contact:

Ms. Hemken: khemken@fulton58.org

Ms. Doering: mdoering@fulton58.org

Social Studies

Unit Checklist


Learning Targets This Unit

  • Student can describe the advancement of civilization and its legacy


Monday: Review

Tuesday: China Test

Wednesday: China Test

Thursday: Test Retakes

Friday: Intro to Ancient Greece


If you have any questions or concerns Please Contact:

Mr. Hoskins: jhoskins@fulton58.org,

Mrs. Windmann: ewindmann@fulton58.org