Dare County

Dedicated to Virginia Dare

Dare County is the easternmost county in the U.S and is in the North Carolina Coastal Plains. As of the 2010 census, the population was 33,920. Its county seat is Manteo. The county is named after Virginia Dare in 1870, the first child born in the Americas to English parents, who was born in what is now Dare County.

Wonderful Surrounding

Dare County has only three other counties surrounding it; Hyde, Currituck, and Tyrrell County. On the other hand, they have many landmarks. Some include the Pea Island National Wildlife Refuge, the Wright Brothers National Memorial, and the fun-filled Outer Banks!


Their county seat is the beautiful Manteo, with seven members of the town council and B.O.C. serving on it. With Mayor Jamie Daniels, County Mananger Robert L. Outten, and Town Manager Kermit Skinner working for the people.