Federal Court Systems

By: Destiny

What is the Federal Court System?

  • The courts settle fair arguments between private parties, government, state or local government, and the United States.
  • The legal systems goal is equal justice under the law.
  • Congress set 3 levels; Supreme Court at the top, appeals courts in middle, and district courts on bottom.
  • The federal court hear cases that involve violation of their laws.
  • Also hear lawsuits between citizens from different states.


US Marshall: Makes arrests, collects fines, takes convicted people to prison.
US Attorney: A government lawyer who prosecutes people accused of breaking Federal Laws.
Magistrate Judge: Decide whether the accused should be held in jail or release on bail.
Life Terms: When someone can hold office for as long as the would like.
Precedent: Model for other judges to follow in making their own decisions on similar cases.
Opinion: Explains the legal thinking behind the court's decision in the case.
Remand: Sending the case back to the lower court to be tried again.
Circuit: The geographic area of a US Court of Appeals.
Appellate Jurisdiction: The authority to hear a case appealed from a lower court.
Original Jurisdiction: The authority to hear a case for the first time.
District Courts: Federal courts where trials are held and lawsuits are begun.
Court of Appeals: The Federal court that reviews decisions made in the district courts.