The Book Of The Lion

By Adam Rowson

The time period of the book

The time period this story takes place in is during the Third Crusade, In the 1180's and 1190's. One way people lived differently in this time period was people would get their hands cut off if they robbed someone. On page 4 this difference of the time period is best described by the following, 'Steel flashed and rang against the anvil. A white wriggling thing struggled in the char-dust on the plank floor and my master's cry was one of disbelief. Maud began to scream, and I was crying out, too, as one of the leather gauntlets picked my master's severed right hand from the coal dust.'

Big image

An easy overview of the book!

In the book Edmund, the moneyer's apprentice, and his master, Otto, were attacked by the king's men because Edmund's master had made counterfeit money. After being captured the Knight Nigel takes him on as a squire. Instead of becoming Sir Nigel's squire he became Sir Rannulf's. Now they started their adventure to the Holy Land to take Jerusalem from the Infidels. They took two boats to get there. At one point there was a huge storm during which Miles, Rannulf's old squire, fell off the boat into the sea. Finally the knights make it to the holy land. After a battle with the Infidels who have taken over the city of Acre, King Richard arrives. With his help they take over the city of Acre and move onto Jerusalem.

Another way people lived differently in this time period was killing their enemies was considered helping God. On page 155 this difference of the time period is best described by the following, 'The priest put a hand on my arm. "You help to kill the enemies of our Lord," he said, in hies heavy Paduan accent. I nodded. "Be happy Edmund!" he said with a smile.'

One part I enjoyed was when Hubert came to get Edmund when he ran away. Hubert charged at Edmund and Edmund grabbed onto the horses bridle and was dragged along with him. After yelling "Hoo!" a few times the horse finally stops and Hubert falls on his face. I hope that after reading my book report that you decide to read this book and enjoy it like I did.

Big image

Author of this book (Michael Cadnum)

Michael Cadnum (born 1949) is an American poet and novelist. He has written more than thirty books for adults, teens and children. He is best known for his adult suspense fiction, and young adult fiction based on myths, legends, and historical figures.

Some of his novels

  • Seize the Storm(2012)
  • Flash (2010)
  • Peril on the Sea (2009)
  • The King's Arrow (2008)
  • Nightsong: The Legend of Orpheus and Eurydice (2006)
  • The Dragon Throne (2005)

Some of his short fictions

  • Can't Catch Me (2006)
  • Together Again (2001)
  • Ella and the Canary Prince (1999)

Some of his poetry

  • "Day by Day" (2003)
  • Illicit (chapbook, 2001)
  • The Woman Who Discovered Math (chapbook, 2001)
  • The Cities We Will Never See (1993)
  • By Evening (1992)
  • Foreign Springs (chapbook, 1988)
  • Invisible Mirror (chapbook, 1987)
  • Long Afternoons (1986)
  • "Wrecking the Cactus" (pamphlet, 1985)
  • The Morning of the Massacre, (chapbook, 1981)

Michael Cadnum's awards and honors

Michal Cadnum is the recipient of a National Endowment for the Arts fellowship for poetry, and the Helen Bullis Prize (Poetry Northwest). He was a finalist for the Owl Creek Book Award, the Los Angeles Times Book Award, and the National Book Award, 2000, for The Book of the Lion.
Big image

Why you should read this book!?

I've just read Michael Cadnum's The Book of the Lion and it has provoked me to think about historical fiction both as a genre and as a vehicle for a particular series of historical events. As of this last reading, I believe that the book embodies the delights and dangers of both perspectives. Cadnum is an accomplished writer. He has a fine ear for language, a deep understanding of the period about which he writes, and an accurate sense of the differing attitudes that make characters interesting and distinct from one another.