14th Amendment

The 14th amendment was known for granting rights to newly freed slaves. It stated that state and federal citizenship for all people no matter what race both born or naturalized in the U.S. was reaffirmed. It also stated that no one could be denied their equal protection of laws, or for a person to be deprived of their rights of life, liberty, or property. Lastly, it stated that no state could abridge the privilege and immunities of citizens.

15th Amendment

On February 26rd, 1869, the 15th amendment was proposed. What the amendment was, was that it said that no one could be denied of their rights because of their race. Also, that congress shall have power to enforce this article by appropriate legislation. The amendment was later passed on February 3rd, 1870. 5 states were known for ratifying the Amendment. These states were: Alabama, Arkansas, California, Connecticut, and Delaware.

Andrew Johnson

Andrew Jackson, known as our 17th president. He became president when Abraham Lincoln had passed away. While he was in office, it was the era of Reconstruction. Throughout his time in office, he got two amendments ratified. The first one was the 13th amendment. The second was the 14th amendment. Another thing that happened while Johnson was in office, was the purchase of Alaska.

Thaddeus Stevens

Thaddeus Stevens born April 4, 1792 from Vermont, became known as one of the most popular Radical Republicans in the House of Representatives. Both him and Charles Sumner, attempted to appose President Lincoln's reconstruction plan. Soon the abolition of slavery because Stevens primary focus. His view on slavery, lead him to become one of the nation's most militant Radical Republicans.
Big image