by Emma Main, 2nd Period

Islamic Beliefs and Traditions

The followers of the Islamic religion are known as Muslims. They worship in mosques, with Imans leading the prayers. Mullahs are the teachers of the religion. They call their god Allah. This is the only god they believe in. Islam is based off of the teachings of Muhammad. The Muslim's holy book is the Qur'an, sometimes spelled Koran. Muslims observe no Sabbath. In Islam, there are five pillars of faith; Shahada- a show of faith, Salut- prayer, Zakah- giving to the poor and needy, Sawm- fasting during Ramadan, and Hajj- making a journey/pilgrimage to Mecca once in your lifetime, if financially able. As with Judaism and Christanity, Islam recognizes Abraham as a religious figure. For Muslims, Jerusalem is a holy city. There, they have a place called the Noble Sanctuary. Within the sanctuary, the al-Aqsa Mosque and the shrine of the Dome on the Rock are both known as some of the holiest sites in Islam. Also, during August, Muslims fast during daylight as part of Ramadan. Afterwards, the celebrate Eidal Fitr as the end of Ramadan. Muslims must pray five times at fixed points every day. They are taught to always believe in good and oppose evil. Islam is monotheistic and believe in Abraham and his God.

Muslims follow 6 Major Beliefs-

1- Belief in Allah, the only God

2- Belief in angels, who can change form at will

3- Belief in the holy books revealed to the prophets

4- Belief in the prophets whom God spoke to

5- Belief in the Day of Judgement

6- Belief in the Final Judgement

What are some traits Islam shares with Judaism and Christianity?

Views that the three religions share about God.

1- Judaism, Christianity, and Islam all believe in Abraham and his God.

2- All of the three religions believe that you should not make images of God to worship. Also, they think this is the only God, as they are monotheistic.
Big image

The Five Pillars of Islam

The Five Pillars of Faith outline the Islamic religion.