Port Susan Middle School

Student & Family Update 05/22/2022

Data & Looking Ahead

Student Perception Survey

At our staff meeting this past week, we went through our student perception data that was collected this spring. As a staff, our discussion was around consistent practices and our work with students and families as we look ahead. Throughout the rest of this school year and into the fall of next year, we will be working on our School Improvement Plan (3 year goals) as well as our Annual Action Plan (yearly progress). Our definition of high quality teaching and learning will continue to be the focus of our work. We look forward to continuing this conversation and provide consistency as we partner with families to support students in this process.


At PSMS, high quality teaching and learning means that we are a community of learners including both students and staff. Teachers provide routine and structures along with the belief that ALL students have the ability to learn.

Tropical Dance!!

I would like to thank our leadership class as well as our PTO for all their work on putting together a fun event for our students. This has been something they've looked forward to all year and it was definitely a success. We had close to 300 students attend with fun activities for all to enjoy. Quite a few staff stayed to enjoy the fun with our students as well. It was a great time!

Chromebook Collection *Update

Our district technology department will begin collecting student chromebooks on Thursday, May 26th from PSMS students to get them inventoried, check for damage, and update them as needed to prepare for the 2022-2023 school year. On May 26th, we will begin with our 6th grade students and collect them during our advisory time together in the foyer. On May 27th, we will collect from 7th grade students and finish off with 8th grade students when we return from Memorial Day Weekend on Tuesday, May 31st.


After these dates, Chromebooks would then become classroom use only. Please spend some time taking a look at Skyward and/or google classroom to see if you have assignments that need to be finished with online access. After we collect the chromebooks, teachers will be working toward paper/pencil assignments for most assignments. However, if there are times that chromebooks are needed (if you're absent and/or have make up work), we will make sure to work with those situations on an individual basis. As always, the support for all students is our number one priority, so please do not hesitate to reach out with questions throughout this time as we finish up the school year.


Please make note of the fine amounts below that have been set by the district. It is important that students continue to take care of the technology that has been checked out to them as well as locate their chargers for the return process. Reach out if you have any questions.

Big picture

*May 26th* 8th Grade Advisory

On May 26th, we will have students from the high school join us to speak with our 8th grade students during advisory time. ALL 8th grade advisors will be asked to walk their class down to the cafeteria right away on Thursday, May 26th. They will be talking about student council and other opportunities to be involved at the high school level.

*Reminder: 8th Grade Families

June 17th, 2022

This will be an evening of celebrating the Class of 2026! We will have a promotion ceremony at Port Susan Middle School from 6-7 p.m. (families invited), followed by a social/dance (8th grade students only) from 7-8:30 p.m. to celebrate their accomplishments. If you're interested in helping out with this event, please contact Port Susan PTO (portsusanpto@gmail.com)


**We Need Pictures**

We'd like to put together a slideshow of memories for our 8th grade students. We have pictures throughout their time here at Port Susan, but would like to reach out and ask that you share any pictures from their time together in school that you have as well. These could be pictures from preschool until the present & the more students in the pictures, the better (5th grade camp, elementary field trips, concerts, sports, etc)!


Please email these pictures directly to aharrington@stanwood.wednet.edu or wholtum@stanwood.wednet.edu by June 1st, 2022.


If you're interested in helping to organize the 8th grade promotion celebration on the evening of June 17th, please reach out to our PTO (portsusanpto@gmail.com) for volunteer opportunities.


August 29, 2022

Incoming Freshman are invited to Stanwood High School for Link Crew Freshman Orientation from 8 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. (see more information below).

Big picture

PTO Fundraiser

We have 18 volunteers to be SLIMED after this coin drive. Our PTO does so much for our staff & students, so they are really excited about making this a fun event for our students. The official date of "sliming" will be announced soon! We will make sure to create a fun atmosphere for this to take place outside, so thank you for sending coins/change in with students for this event!

End of Year Dates & Testing

Upcoming Dates/End of Year:

May 20 School Dance/Social

May 23-27 Square Dancing

May 26th Chromebook Collection

May 31 Food Drive begins

June 7 Fifth Grade Tour

June 10 Assist Program Zoo Field Trip

June 15 NO LATE START (full day)

June 17 End of Year Celebrations and 8th Grade Evening Promotion

June 20 Last Day of School (9:40 a.m. release)

Week of May 23rd through 27th

**Square Dance Week

Monday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Lesson


Tuesday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Homework Support


Wednesday:

WHITE Wednesday

High School Choir Assembly (Adjusted Schedule)


Thursday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Homework Support

Track @ SHS


Friday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Homework Support

Finishing Strong

We are down to 19.3 school days left (counting today) of the 2021-2022 school year. It is important that we continue to look and monitor our academics as we finish strong. This past week, as you know, we have began our SBA testing. Our encouragement in doing their best, reading quietly as a choice when they've finished, and maintaining a positive learning environment out of respect for their classmates is appreciated.
Big picture

We hope you had a wonderful weekend!

Cherae Almanza, Principal calmanza@stanwood.wednet.edu

Crysty Auckland, Assistant Principal/Athletic Director cauckland@stanwood.wednet.edu


Teacher Emails

Dave Austin (6-8 Fitness & 6 Leadership) daustin@stanwood.wednet.edu

Jonathan Bletscher (6-8 Band) jbletscher@stanwood.wednet.edu

Joan Campbell (6-7 Math) jcampbell@stanwood.wednet.edu

Garry Carlson (6-7 Math) gcarlson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Charlene Franck (7 ELA & 6-8 Art) CFranck@stanwood.wednet.edu

Grace Gale (6 Science & 6-8 STEM/Robotics) GGale@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sub for Grace Gale is Anastasia Stanton Astanton@stanwood.wednet.edu

Chelsea Hanson (6-8 ELA/Humanities) CHanson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Nate Hanson (6-8 Computers/Digital Effects) nhanson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Audrie Harrington (6/7 ELA & 7/8 Leadership) aharrington@stanwood.wednet.edu

Deborah Hepper (6/7 Social Studies/History) DHepper@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sub for Deborah Hepper is Kelsey Huerter Khuerter@stanwood.wednet.edu

Seth Hills (6/8 History) shills@stanwood.wednet.edu

Lori Johnson (6-8 Assist) ljohnson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Wade Johnson (7/8 Science) wjohnson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Rebecca Klein (6/7 Science) rklein@stanwood.wednet.edu

Meghan Lawrence (6-8 PBS) mlawrence@stanwood.wednet.edu

Ellianna Martin (6-8 Math) emartin@stanwood.wednet.edu>,

Daniel Mccrumb (6 Math/Science & 7/8 Outdoor Ed) DMccrumb@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sarah Oldow (6 ELA/Social Studies) soldow@stanwood.wednet.edu

Catherine Perry (6-8 EL) cperry@stanwood.wednet.edu

Tracy Riley (6-8 ELA) TRiley@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kelcie Rocha (7/8 Math) krocha@stanwood.wednet.edu

Brad Rochon (7/8 Science) brochon@stanwood.wednet.edu

Connie Schmidt (6-8 Health) cschmidt@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sheri Schroeder (8 History/ELA) sleeschroeder@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sub for Sheri Schroeder is Delanie May dmay@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kym Shoemaker (7/8 Math) kshoemaker@stanwood.wednet.edu

Crystal Titus (6-8 Fitness) ctitus@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kayte White (8 ELA & 6 Cultures) kwhite@stanwood.wednet.edu

Julia Zurcher (7 History & 7/8 Home Ec) jzurcher@stanwood.wednet.edu


Office Support

Jayde Piggot (6 Counselor) jpiggott@stanwood.wednet.edu

Keli Niegemann (7/8 Counselor) kniegemann@stanwood.wednet.edu

Emily Bowne (School Psychologist) ebowne@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kandyce Hansen (Speech Language Pathologist) khansen@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sara Harlan (Librarian) sharlan@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sub for Sara Harlan is Ronda Russell rrussell@stanwood.wednet.edu

District Information

Big picture
The Stanwood-Camano School District does not discriminate in employment, programs, or activities on the basis of sex, race, creed, religion, color, national origin, age, veteran or military status, sexual orientation, gender expression or identity, disability, or the use of a trained dog guide or service animal and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. Inquiries regarding compliance and/or grievance procedures may be directed to the District's Title IX/Affirmative Action Officer and Civil Rights Compliance Coordinator, Maurene Stanton (mstanton@stanwood.wednet.edu), or the Section 504/American Disabilities Act Coordinator, Robert Hascall (rhascall@stanwood.wednet.edu) Stanwood-Camano School District, 26920 Pioneer Hwy, Stanwood, WA 98292. Telephone: (360) 629-1200.