Jaime Miller's Introduction

Community Organization & Development Class

About Me!

Hello Everyone! I am 28 years old and I am currently living in Germany with my 4 year-old daughter, husband, and two black labs. We moved here about a year ago and have fallen in love with Europe and it's culture. I love photography, but it isn't letting me upload anything on here. I am currently obtaining my Bachelors of Applied Behavioral Science degree, but planning on finishing my Associates of Nursing Degree when I return back to the states in a couple of years.


I have some experience in pulling a community together from being flooded in our community with injured, and trapped people stuck in the neighborhood with no way to get out. You learn to pull people together in a time of crisis without much thought about what you are doing. We had to help each other save as much of our possessions as possible. We had to depend on each other to survive the flood. Also, I have some experience in previous classes about the grassroot movements making a change in public policy. These movements have been very impactful in the past, and will continue to have a great impact on our communities in the future.


In this class I am looking forward to learning more about non-profit organizations because that is what I would like to become more involved in. I think non-profits are very important in our communities and need further support from the people in the communities. If we all volunteered, imagine what a difference that would make in our world.