By: Nathan Traquair

Capital and Major Cities of Uruguay

The capital of Uruguay is Montevideo, a country with a population about 1.305 million people according to the 2011 census, and is located at the southern tip of Uruguay. Montevideo was founded by Bruno Mauricio de Zabala in 1726. Four major cities of Uruguay are Salto, Paysandu, Las Piedras, and Rivera.

Uruguay's History

The Portuguese founded the town of Colonia de Sacrementa in 1680, in present day Uruguay. The Portuguese controlled Uruguay until the Spaniards took over from the Portuguese. Uruguay later started rebellions and revolts against the Spaniards, which helped them gain independence on August 25, 1825.

Flag and Language

Uruguay's flag consists of 9 equal horizontal stripes that alternate blue and white. At the top left corner, there is a flag with rays that alternate wavy and straight. Uruguay's main language is Spanish, but some people speak Portuguese and different, smaller languages.
Big image

Geographical Information

Uruguay is located at the Southeast past of South America, and is bordered by Brazil and Argentina. There are also many rivers in Uruguay, such as the Rio Negro and Rio de la Plata. Uruguay is also home to many mountains and mountain ranges, such as the Cuchilla Grande.
Big image

Political Information

Uruguay's government is a presidential representative democratic republic. Their president is Tabare Vazquez, a former cancer doctor, who is now president.
Big image

Economic Information

The main currency of Uruguay is the Uruguayan peso. Uruguay's economic system is socialism.
Big image

Tourist Information

There are many beautiful rivers in Uruguay, such as the Rio Negro. There are also many mountain ranges such as the Cuchilla Grande. Tourists should visit the Pocitos, a very nice beach in Uruguay, or the Solis Theatre.
Big image

Fun Facts

The Country´s name ‘Uruguay’ comes from the Uruguay River which is means ‘river of the painted birds’ in the Guarani language.

Uruguay is the only country whose name in English has the same letter three times in its first five.

Uruguay is the only country that keeps track of 100 percent of its cattle.