Celebrating Kevin Ownbey

January is Arkansas School Board Member Recognition Month

Big picture

Kevin Ownbey

Kevin Ownbey believes the Springdale District is as strong as ever as he serves his 12th year as a member of the School Board.

“There is excellence in everything we do. The magnitude of care our teachers have for their students is huge. The community partners that walk hand-in-hand with our schools provide great benefits for everyone,” Ownbey said. “Being on the board is time consuming but very rewarding. It gives us exposure to our buildings, our students, and all the extracurricular activities that are offered.”

There’s a lot to love about the school district, he said.

“I love everything about our district. I love how the different cultures work together,” Ownbey said. “Seeing the love, compassion, and overwhelming concern for our kids’ safety that exists in our district is impressive.”

Originally from Russellville, Ownbey has genuine history with Springdale Schools.

“When I was playing football at Russellville High School, Springdale thumped us every time we drove up the mountain,” Ownbey recalls. “Springdale always had the edge whether it was athletics, band or education.”

Ownbey has since established roots in Springdale.

“I love Springdale. It is my kids’ hometown,” Ownbey said. “All three of our kids, Meg, Zach, and Mollie, are Har-Ber High School graduates…My wife, Holly, has been a teacher at Tyson Elementary for 20 years. I love this district.”

Ownbey is the owner of NWA Transportation and a former vice president of operations with Tyson Foods.

Our School Board

Springdale Public Schools is served by a seven-person voluntary School Board that goes above and beyond to make sure the district's students and staff operate in a culture of care where all can thrive.

The School Board members are instrumental for leading the district daily and have never been more valued than during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Arkansas School Board Member Recognition Month

Gov. Asa Hutchinson declared January 2022 as Arkansas School Board Member Recognition Month, and we encourage you to take time to thank our School Board members for their constant support of the district and the community.

School Board Members

Michelle Cook, School Board President

Randy Hutchinson, School Board Vice President

Nick Emerson, School Board Secretary

Debbie Creek, School Board Member

Clinton Bell, School Board Member

Kevin Ownbey, School Board Member

Eddie Ramos, School Board Member

Please use #SchoolBoardRecognitionMonth or #celebrateARschoolboards when posting recognitions of School Board members on social media so we can all celebrate them together.

Big picture
Big picture