McClain Library Update

Award Season Edition

Newbery Award Winners Announced

Early January is always an exciting time in "library land" as the annual book awards are announced by the American Library Association. (Think of it as the Oscars for children's book lovers.) This year was a fabulous year for middle school fiction - and I am really excited to share the winning titles with all of you. Come by the library and check out one of this year's winners or one from the past. This year's Newbery winner breaks with recent tradition. It is actually a picture book -- The Last Stop on Market Street by Matt de La Pena.

Newbery Honor Books

Coretta Scott King Award

This award is given each year to an African American author for outstanding inspirational and educational contributions. This year's winner is the third installment in a series by Rita WIlliams-Garcia about the Gaither sisters, who are about to learn what it's like to be fish out of water as they travel from the streets of Brooklyn to the rural South for the summer of a lifetime.

McClain Library

Mrs. Efkeman, Assistant Librarian
Mrs. Allison, Library Director
Follow us on Instagram: sgis_book_nook