The 5 major religion

Christianity, Judaism, Islam, Buddhism, and Hinduism



The Messiah will come

The dead will be resurrected

God is eternal

Prayer is to be directed to God alone and to no other

The Torah Is the most sacred book

Major holidays:

Shabbat, Passover, and hanukkah

Judaism originated in Israel.

World Religions: Judaism

5 major religons



God, Jesus and the Holy Spirit (Holy Trinity)

The Bible

Major holidays: Christmas, Easter

Everyone goes to church on Easter Sunday and Christmas Eve, praying, Ash Wednesday, Lent

It originated in Israel

The Bible Miniseries Trailer Extended


The Islam religion is a very populated religion.the holy book is called the Quran. They believe that there is one god which is called this means that they are monotheistic. They pray 5 times a day and read the Quran every day. One main holiday that they have is

Ramadan which means they fast for a month.

It originated in Israel

New York on Islam


Hinduism's early history is the subject of much debate for a number of reasons.

Firstly, in a strict sense there was no 'Hinduism' before modern times, although the sources of Hindu traditions are very ancient.

Secondly, Hinduism is not a single religion but embraces many traditions.

Holy days

Diwali Ganesh Chaturthi Hanuman Jayanti Holi Krishna Janmashtami (Krishna Jayanti)Mahashivratri Makar Sankranti Navaratri (Navratri)Raksha Bandhan Rama Navami Swaminarayan Jayanti Thaipusam Vaisakhi Varsha Pratipada

Hindu religious rites are classified into three categories:


Nitya rituals are performed daily and consist in offerings made at the home shrine or performing puja to the family deities.


Naimittika rituals are important but only occur at certain times during the year, such as celebrations of the festivals, thanksgiving and so on.


Kamya are rituals which are "optional" but highly desirable. Pilgrimage is one such.

The majority of Hindu homes have a shrine where offerings are made and prayers are said.

Hindu worship, or puja, involves images (murtis), prayers (mantras) and diagrams of the universe (yantras).

Central to Hindu worship is the image, or icon, which can be worshipped either at home or in the temple.

It originated in india

Ancient History of Hinduism


Buddhism originated from northern India nearly 2,500 years ago. Buddhist believe in the 4 noble truths. The four noble truths are The Four Noble Truths are regarded as the central doctrine of the Buddhist tradition, and are said to provide a conceptual framework for all of Buddhist thought. These four truths explain the nature of dukkha meaning suffering or anxiety

The four noble truths:

1)The truth of dukkha (suffering, anxiety, unsatisfactoriness[a])

2)The truth of the origin of dukkha

3)The truth of the cessation of dukkha

4)The truth of the path leading to the cessation of dukkha

Buddhist pray for times. The main concept of their religion is too make it Nirvana by living the best possible spiritual life possible. This is basically the after life. If they do not succeed in making it to nirvana, then they believe that they are reborn through reincarnation.

It originated in India

Lamar University - Buddhism Basics