MSAD 52 Mental Health Newsletter

Collaboration of MSAD 52 School Counselors & Social Workers

4/1/20 _________________________________________________________________________________

What is mindfulness?

Big picture

The buzz word is mindfulness. “Be mindful.” “Take a mindful moment.” What is it really? How does it work? What’s the point of teaching children? Why is it all the rage?


In simple terms, MINDFULNESS is being aware of the present moment and having an awareness of our thoughts, feelings, body, sensations, and surrounding environment. Taking a moment to just be still and aware of what is happening. This small shift in our attention can make a world of a difference. It allows us to create a space. In that space is the power to replace impulsive reactions or words with thoughtful responses and actions.


For parents, it allows us to take a moment and choose a thoughtful healthy response versus a knee jerk reaction which might escalate a situation. For children, it helps them improve their abilities to pay attention, to calm down when they are upset, and to make better decisions. In short, it helps with emotional regulation and cognitive focus.


The information above was borrowed from these resources. Check them out for more:

Mindful.org https://www.mindful.org/jon-kabat-zinn-defining-mindfulness/

Mindful Schools https://www.mindfulschools.org/

Huff Post https://www.huffpost.com/entry/8-ways-to-teach-mindfulness-to-kids_b_5611721

Check out this video of Ms. Marston and her daughter modeling

3 quick mindful moments you can try at home!

Mindful Moments - Video 1

Messages from your school counselors & social workers!

3/25/20 _________________________________________________________________________________

How to take care of YOU!

Big picture
The Mental Health First Aid curriculum by the National Council of Behavioral Health suggests the following recommendations to maintain wellness while practicing physical distancing.(Updated 3/23/20)



  1. Eat healthfully to keep your body in top working order.
  2. Exercise reduces symptoms of depression and anxiety, whether we’re working out at home or taking a solo jog around the neighborhood.
  3. Practice relaxation therapy. Focusing on tensing and relaxing muscle groups can help you relax voluntarily when feeling overwhelmed, stressed or anxious.
  4. Let light in. For some people, increased exposure to light can improve symptoms of depression. If you can, open the shades and let more sunlight in.
  5. Be kind to yourself! Treat yourself with the same compassion you would a friend.
  6. Stay connected. Even if you can’t get together face-to-face, you can stay connected to friends, family and neighbors with phone calls, text messages, video chats and social media. If you’re feeling lonely, sad or anxious, reach out to your social support networks. Share what you are feeling and offer to listen to friends or family members about their feelings. We are all experiencing this scary and uncertain time together.
  7. Monitor media consumption. While you might want to stay up-to the minute with COVID-19 news, too much exposure can be overwhelming. Balance media consumption with other activities you enjoy, such as reading, cooking or listening to music. (Kapil, 2020).
Big picture
211 is a free, confidential information and referral service that connects people of all ages across Maine to local resources. 211 Maine is based in Maine and available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Their Specialists are trained and friendly; they know we all need help sometimes. Please visit their website at www.211maine.org.

Messages from your school counselors & social workers!

3/19/20 _________________________________________________________________________________

Welcome to our first newsletter!


In an effort to stay balanced and connected during these uncertain times, the School Counselors and Social Workers in MSAD 52 would like to offer a regular newsletter for students, parents, staff, and the community.

Each newsletter will feature resources and ideas around mental health and wellness.

Big picture

Crisis Support Services

Even among the recommendations of social distancing, we can use our devices to access the help and support we need when we need it. Please check out these websites with more information about the crisis support services available in our community.


Hotline and Crisis Numbers: https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/hotlines.shtml


Crisis Services through Sweetser: https://www.sweetser.org/programs-services/services-for-adults/crisis-services/


Crisis Text Line: https://www.crisistextline.org/


National Suicide Prevention Lifeline: https://suicidepreventionlifeline.org/


National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) Maine: https://www.namimaine.org/


If you are concerned about yourself or someone else, please talk with a trusted adult. You are not in this alone! Parents, teachers, counselors, and social workers are here to help. :)

Food Pantry Locations in our Community

School Counselors and Social Workers Contact Information

Leavitt Area High School

Heidi Poulin, School Counselor at LAHS heidi.poulin@msad52.org

Nicole Drew, School Counselor at LAHS nicole.drew@msad52.org

Sarah Frank, School Counselor at LAHS sarah.frank@msad52.org

Amy McNamara, Substance Abuse Counselor at LAHS amy.mcnamara@msad52.org

Erika Ouellette, Social Worker at LAHS erika.ouellette@msad52.org


Tripp Middle School

Brooke Newton, School Counselor at TMS brooke.newton@msad52.org

Papawadee Yooman (Pook), Social Worker at TMS papawadee.yooman@msad52.org


Turner Elementary School

Carlene Treadwell, School Counselor at TES carlene.treadwell@msad52.org

Kara Bryant, Social Worker at TPS, TES, LCS kara.bryant@msad52.org


Turner Primary School

Kayla Marston, School Counselor at TPS kayla.marston@msad52.org


Greene Central School

Jennifer Simmons, School Counselor at GCS jennifer.simmons@msad52.org

Melissa Tremblay, Social Worker at GCS melissa.tremblay@msad52.org


Leeds Central School

Liz Cook, School Counselor at LCS liz.cook@msad52.org